In This Section

Coastal Carolina University trustees set student fees

February 22, 2013

At its quarterly meeting today, the Board of Trustees of Coastal Carolina University set new student fees for the 2013-2014 academic year. For the second consecutive year, in-state undergraduate tuition will not increase at Coastal Carolina University.

The board approved a $30 increase in the technology fee for out-of-state undergraduate students. The purpose of the increase (from $40 to $70 per semester) is to offset shortfalls resulting from cuts in the state's lottery-funded technology allocation.

In-state and out-of-state undergraduate students will also pay an additional fee of $40 to anticipate expense requirements resulting from the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). Beginning in January 2014, the PPACA will require the University to provide insurance coverage for all employees, including adjunct faculty members and others not previously covered. The fee will ensure that CCU can fully comply with the provisions of the PPACA.

The board approved a 3 percent tuition increase for out-of-state undergraduate students.

The board approved a 4.1 percent increase in rates for in-state graduate students. In-state graduate students in the Master of Business Administration (MBA) and Master of Accountancy (MAcc) programs will see a 4.5 percent increase. The board approved a 9.6 percent increase for out-of-state graduate students, and a 9.5 percent increase for out-of-state students in MBA and MAcc programs.

The board approved a 3 percent increase in housing fees, except for the student housing complexes at University Place and The Gardens, which will increase by 5 percent. The board also approved 4.4 percent increase in the meal plan rate.

The board also directed the University administration to identify $1 million in savings from the institution's budget. CCU administrators will present these recommendations to the board at its May meeting.

Approval was granted to begin construction on a second 40,000-square-foot academic classroom/office building to complement the recently completed Penny Hall. Construction costs, estimated at $18 million, will be funded by the Horry County one-cent sales tax.

The board approved the donation of 8.16 acres of roads from the Coastal Educational Foundation, including Chanticleer Drive, Founders Drive and an access road behind the Jackson Student Center, to allow the University to conduct repair work.

Ten property leases were renewed or adopted by the board.

The board also approved recommendations for faculty promotion and/or tenure. Seventeen faculty member have been promoted to associate professor with tenure: Aneilya Barnes, Cathy Jones, David Kellogg, Deborah Perkins, Vladislav Guilis, William Jones, Daniel Turner, Easton Selby, Erika Small, Jason Eastman, Jeffrey Jones, Joe Oestreich, Louis Rubbo, Min Ye, Robert Jenkot, Robert Salvino and Suheir Daoud. One faculty member was approved for tenure: John Felts.