news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Women in Philanthropy and Leadership elect new officers

August 6, 2013

Women in Philanthropy and Leadership for Coastal Carolina University (WIPL) announces its new officers for 2013-2014. They are: Marjorie Thompson, president; Jennifer Shinaberger, vice president/president-elect; JoAnna Dalton, secretary; and Lynn Fox, treasurer and liaison from the Office for Philanthropy.

Thompson is the practice administrator for Carolina Radiology Associates LLC, a position she has held for 14 years. Originally from Charlotte, N.C., she received a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

Thompson is vice chairman for the Coastal Chapter of the S.C. Medical Group Management Association, a board member and vice chairman for the Grand Strand Miracle League, vice chairman of the Horry County Memorial Library System, vice chairman of the Conway Medical Center Foundation Board and is on the Clemson University Parents Advisory Council Board where she and her husband serve as couple chair-elect. She is a 2002 graduate of the Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce Leadership Grand Strand program and has served on the program’s board of regents.

Shinaberger is the assistant director of distance learning and the Center for Teaching Excellence to Advance Learning, the faculty development center at Coastal Carolina University. Shinaberger is also a teaching associate in the Spadoni College of Education where she teaches instructional technology. She has been in the field of education for 16 years and was a Spanish teacher prior to joining CCU in 1998.

Dalton is the administrative coordinator for the Office for Finance and Administration at Coastal Carolina University. She attended CCU and received the Women in Philanthropy and Leadership scholarship twice; she graduated magna cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in English in 2009.

Fox is the director of research in the Office for Philanthropy at Coastal Carolina University and a teaching associate in the Wall College of Business for the university's First-Year Experience program. She serves as a board member and scholarship committee chair for the Sheriff’s Foundation of Horry County and is vice president of the Parent Teacher Student Organization at the Scholars Academy. She is a 2006 alumnus of Leadership Conway. She earned a bachelor’s degree in sociology from CCU and an MBA from Liberty University.

The elected officers serve for two-year terms.

The executive director of WIPL is Terri DeCenzo, a community leader and advocate for women and women’s issues. Other members of the WIPL board of directors are Mary Jo Roberts, immediate past president; Charmaine Tomczyk, chair of the scholarship committee; Henri Malizia, chair of the membership committee; and Anne Monk, public relations officer.