news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

CCU board of trustees welcomes three new members

September 23, 2013

Marion Lee of Hemingway, Charles Lewis of Gaffney and George Mullen of Hilton Head Island have been selected to serve as members of Coastal Carolina University's board of trustees.

Lee is a retired teacher, principal and member of the S.C. State Board of Education. He is a U.S. Army veteran and a graduate of Presbyterian College. He earned a master’s degree in education from the University of South Carolina. He previously served as a member of the Hemingway town council. He is married to Nancy Lee, the father of three daughters and the grandfather of eight grandchildren.

Lewis earned a bachelor’s degree in business from Smithdale Massey University in Richmond, Va. He spent more than 40 years working in retail management for Belk and retiring from Hamrick’s in 2010. He and his wife Kathryn have been married for 45 years, and they have two daughters and five grandchildren.

An attorney for the past 33 years, Mullen has practiced law with Mullen Wylie LLC for more than 20 years. He graduated from Mercer University in 1976 and earned a law degree from the University of South Carolina in 1979. Mullen is married to Carmen Tevis Mullen. She is a judge for South Carolina’s 14th Judicial Circuit. They have four children.

The University's 17-member Board of Trustees comprises the Governor of the State or his or her designee, who is an ex officio member of the Board, one gubernatorial appointee from the state at-large, and 15 members elected by the South Carolina General Assembly to represent each of the state’s Congressional Districts and the state at-large. Lee fills the 6th Congressional District, Lewis represents the 5th Congressional District, and Mullen represents the 1st Congressional District.

Other current members of CCU's board of trustees are D. Wyatt Henderson (chairman) of Greer, Larry L. Biddle of Conway, William S. Biggs of Anderson, Gary W. Brown (vice chairman) of Florence, Samuel H. Frink of Conway, Natasha M. Hanna of Conway, Carlos C. Johnson of Roebuck, William L. Lyles Jr. of Anderson, Daniel W. R. Moore Sr. of North Myrtle Beach, Oran P. Smith of Leesville, Eugene C. Spivey of Myrtle Beach, Samuel J. Swad of Gaffney, Robert G. Templeton of Neeses and William E. Turner III of Greenville.