In This Section

Swain Scholars named for 2015-2016

September 16, 2015

Three juniors at Coastal Carolina University have been named 2015-2016 Swain Scholars for the next four semesters.

The students are Nancy Phillips, a biochemistry major from Chapin; Emma Kroger, an exercise and sport science major from Germantown, Ohio; and Kerry Dittmeier, a public health major who grew up on military bases and lived in many countries around the world before enrolling at CCU.

The junior-level students from the College of Science were selected through a competitive process for the unique scholarship program that fulfills the wishes of donor Kenneth E. Swain of Myrtle Beach. Scholarship recipients conduct student-driven community health outreach and research projects designed to improve the health of Horry County residents.

The scholars are charged with developing and presenting a series of educational outreach programs that highlight guidelines for healthy lifestyles raised by research findings. The Swain Scholars program is comprised of selected undergraduate students from the public health, biochemistry, biology, exercise and sport science, and chemistry programs. The students receive scholarships up to $5,000 per year based on academic and financial criteria.

Briana Laws, DeVariay White and Christina Auth are returning as senior-level Swain Scholars.

For more information on the program, contact Sharon Thompson, professor of public health for the department of heath sciences, at 843-349-2635, or visit their website