In This Section

WIPL announces 2017-2018 student scholarship recipients

November 6, 2017

Women in Philanthropy and Leadership (WIPL) at Coastal Carolina University has awarded 28 student scholarships totaling $37,000 for the 2017-2018 academic year. The recipients are from 14 states, including 11 students from South Carolina.

Since 2007, WIPL has provided 197 scholarships for deserving CCU students. The organization reached a milestone in 2013 when its endowed scholarship fund passed the $100,000 mark, providing at least one $5,000 scholarship each year. This year marks the fourth time the WIPL Legacy Endowed Scholarship has been awarded.

The 2017-2018 recipients are listed below with the names of the respective scholarships or the donor/honoree-sponsored awards in italics.

Colton Aksomitus, a senior majoring in biology from Bel Air, Md.*

Tessa Belongia, a sophomore majoring in musical theatre from Charlotte, N.C.

Dylan Boston, a senior majoring in accounting from Conway, S.C.

Aramark Campus Services

Broderick Daniel, a senior majoring in information technology from Irmo, S.C.

Barbara Whye

Dakota Dobrzynski, a sophomore majoring in psychology from Bridgeport, Ohio

Brittani Eaton, a sophomore majoring in marine science from Ashburn, Va.

Julia Emory, a senior majoring in history from Longs, S.C.

Beate Chelette

Abigail Hayes, a sophomore majoring in marine science from Lansing, Mich.

Lauren Heald, a senior majoring in public health from Rutland, Vt.*

Taylor Hodge, a junior majoring in public health from Lexington, Ky.

Aramark Campus Services

Brenna Kallod, a sophomore majoring in music from West Fargo, N.D.

Alan Lemons, a senior majoring in marketing from Appleton, Wis.

Zonta Foundation of Myrtle Beach in memory of Ruth F. Walker

Ashley Lynch, a senior majoring in biology from Baltimore, Md.

Zachary Mayberry, a senior majoring in management from Conway, S.C.

John Moore, a sophomore majoring in marine science from Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Allison Moss, a senior communication major from Conway, S.C.

WIPL Legacy Endowed Scholarship

Yaicha Ocampo, a junior majoring in English from Moncks Corner, S.C.*

WIPL Legacy Endowed Scholarship

Kelsey O’Neill, a sophomore majoring in early childhood education from Old Bridge, N.J.

Colleen Piparo, a sophomore majoring in psychology from Ramsey, N.J.

Olivia Post, a junior majoring in biology from Evanston, Ill.

Andrea Skipper, a senior majoring in sociology from Conway, S.C.

Susan O’Malley

Angelica Smith, a senior majoring in exercise science from McClellanville, S.C.

Kimberly M. Strickland

Dominique Smith, a senior majoring in theatre arts from Charlotte, N.C.

Maria Sparacino, a sophomore majoring in psychology from Wind Lake, Wis.

Kimberly M. Strickland

Elva Taco, a senior majoring in middle level education from Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Erin Taylor, a junior majoring in communication from Danvers, Mass.

Madison Thomas, a sophomore majoring in English from Windber, Pa.

Lynda T. Courtney

Carly Todd, a senior majoring in intelligence and national security studies from Murrells Inlet, S.C.

WIPL was founded in 2007 under the leadership of CCU first lady Terri DeCenzo. It is committed to inspiring, connecting and empowering women to strengthen their individual and collective voices in leadership at CCU and in the community, state, region and beyond. Members include faculty, staff and community leaders who are committed to creating and supporting opportunities for women in all areas of leadership and across all disciplines, while continuing to invest in scholarships for CCU students. Since its inception in 2007, WIPL has provided students more than $200,000 in financial support through a fully endowed scholarship and annual awards.

*Indicates a student who is receiving a WIPL scholarship for the second time.