news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

CCU trustees approve degree program in women’s and gender studies

February 22, 2019

Coastal Carolina University’s board of trustees approved a new degree program at its meeting today, the Bachelor of Arts/Science in Women’s and Gender Studies.

The new program is designed to provide students with critical skills and abilities to understand and evaluate the dynamics of identity categories (such as gender, race, class, sexual orientation, ability, age, citizenship status). The addition of the degree reflects a fast-growing movement in higher education that addresses limitations in the current workforce that, if remedied, will foster innovation, develop stronger corporate operating practices, and promote a just world in which all individuals can develop to their highest potential.

CCU’s program is unique in offering a Bachelor of Science degree that focuses on women in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) in direct response to a recognized need for gender and racial diversity within the STEM fields. University officials anticipate that this focus will serve as a recruitment and retention tool for women who choose to major in STEM fields. Graduates of the program will be well suited for leadership careers in management, communications and administration within the STEM industry.

The board also approved promotion and/or tenure for faculty members. Nine faculty members received board approval for promotion from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure: Jonathan Acuff, Shaowu Bao, Mitchell Church, Jessica Doll, Sathish Kumar, Hugh Lamont, Adam Pelty, Clayton Whitesides and Todd Wren.

Ten faculty members were promoted from associate professor to full professor: Karen Aguirre, Aneilya Barnes, Richard Costner, Rajendra Dahal, Jeffrey Jones, Michael Scott Mann, Nicholas Pritchard, Talbot Easton Selby, Erika Small and Douglas Van Hoewyk.

One faculty member was promoted to professor with tenure: Jennifer Altieri. The board approved distinguished professor emeritus status for retiring marketing professor Dennis A. Rauch and distinguished senior lecturer status for retiring history instructor Robert T. Oliver.

Seven one-year property renewal leases were approved by the board at the meeting.