Faculty - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Communication, Media, and Culture

Department Administration

Dr. Kyle J. Holody
Department Chair | Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 312 | 843-349-2946 | kholody@coastal.edu

  • 2012, 2014, 2015, 2017 Apple teaching award
  • 2017 Chair teaching award
  • 2019 Edwards College Distinguished Service Award

Lisa Bair
Administrative Specialist
Brittain Hall 311 | 843-349-2450 | lbair@coastal.edu

Dr. Cassandra Hill
Associate Chair | Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
chill2@coastal.edu 

  • 2019 Apple teaching award
  • 2018 Chair teaching award

Dr. Corinne Dalelio
Graduate Coordinator | Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 313 | 843-349-2963 | cdalelio@coastal.edu 

Professional Advisors

Heather Huffman
Director of Edwards Advising
Brittain Hall 330 | 843-349-2941 | hhuffman@coastal.edu

Ana Maria Lavado
Advisor: A-M last names
Brittain Hall 327 | 843-349-2904 | alavado@coastal.edu

William Wright
Advisor: N-Z last names

Brittain Hall 329 | 843-349-6426 | wwright@coastal.edu

Faculty

Dr. J. C. Abdallah
Assistant Professor
Brittain Hall 322 | 843-349-4133 | jabdallah@coastal.edu

Jane A. Bailey
Teaching Associate
jbailey2@coastal.edu

Nadzeya Batson
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 320 | 843-349-2450 | nvbatson@coastal.edu

Dr. Andrea Bergstrom
Assessment Coordinator | Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 321 | 843-349-2861 | abergstro@coastal.edu

Claire Calhoun
Teaching Associate
jcalhou3@coastal.edu

Dr. Linsay M. Cramer
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 305 | 843-349-4151 | lcramer@coastal.edu

Michael DiGiorgio
Digital Studio Director | Teaching Associate
Edwards Hall 255 | 843-349-2678 | mdigiorgi@coastal.edu

Dr. James Everett
Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 306 | 843-349-2583 | jeverett@coastal.edu

Angela Fabbri
Teaching Associate
afabbri1@coastal.edu

Dr. Wes E. Fondren
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Advisor: Lambda Pi Eta (honor society)
Brittain Hall 305 | 843-349-6656 | wfondren@coastal.edu 

  • 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 Apple teaching award
  • 2018 Chauncey Champion service award
  • 2017 Distinguished Professor of the Year
  • 2012 Edwards College advisor award
  • 2012, 2018 Faculty Member of the Year, Athletics
  • 2013 Panhellenic Council Role Model award
  • 2014 Pat Singleton-Young Student Advocate of the Year award

Gwen Fowler
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 316 | 843-349-2288 | gfowler@coastal.edu

Matt Hogue
Athletic Director | Teaching Associate
dhogue@coastal.edu

Dr. Candance Howell
Teaching Associate
chowell@coastal.edu

Dr. Sofia Karatza
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 309 | 843-349-2496 | skaratza@coastal.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Muckensturm
Senior Lecturer
Brittain Hall 325 | 843-349-6968 | emuckenst@coastal.edu

  • 2018, 2021 Apple teaching award

Dr. James Ndone
Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 326 | jndone@coastal.edu

Dr. Adam Pitluk
Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 317 | 843-349-2496 | apitluk@coastal.edu

Dr. Jeffrey Ranta
Internship Coordinator | Assistant Professor | Graduate Faculty

Advisor: WCCU Radio
Brittain 314 | 843-349-6662 | jranta@coastal.edu 

Brian Roessler
Senior Lecturer

Advisor: Lambda Pi Eta (honor society)
Brittain Hall 318 | 843-349-2163 | broessle@coastal.edu 

Dr. José Sanjinés
Professor | Graduate Faculty

Brittain Hall 319 | 843-349-2467 | sanjines@coastal.edu

Kimberly Schumacher
Senior Lecturer

Brittain Hall 316 | 843-349-6572 | kschumach@coastal.edu

Dr. Christina Selby
Professor | Graduate Faculty
Brittain Hall 315 | 843-349-2954 | cselby@coastal.edu

Jeanne Stewart
Lecturer

Brittain Hall 318 | 843-349-6909 | jstewar1@coastal.edu 

Sharon Tutrone
Lecturer
Brittain Hall 325 | 843-349-2450 | stutrone@coastal.edu 

  • 2020 Chair service award
  • 2020 Apple teaching award

Dr. Wendy Weinhold
Associate Professor | Graduate Faculty
Advisor: The Chanticleer (newspaper)
Brittain Hall 323 | 843-349-26471 | wweinhold@coastal.edu 

Dr. Misti Williams
Senior Lecturer

Brittain Hall 320 | 843-349-6514 | mwilliams@coastal.edu

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Dahlia DeHaan
Graduate Teaching Assistant
dldehaan@coastal.edu 

Krystal Dotson
Graduate Teaching Assistant
krforsh@coastal.edu

Danielle Johnson
Graduate Teaching Assistant
dljohns8@coastal.edu

Leanna Guarascio
Graduate Teaching Assistant
lguarasc@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Deborah Breede
Professor
dbreede@coastal.edu

Linda Kuykendall
Senior Instructor
lindak@coastal.edu 

Dr. Steven Madden
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
madden@coastal.edu

 

The Department of Communication, Media, and Culture at Coastal Carolina University is committed to the pursuit of intentional, reflective, and systemic practices and praxes to mitigate and alleviate exclusion, inequity, hate, violence, and any forms of communication that sustain or reinforce such attitudes and behaviors. As members of the National Communication Association (NCA), we affirm the values expressed in its Credo for Free and Responsible Communication in a Democratic Society and its Resolution Condemning White Supremacy in Political Discourse. We are committed to working towards social justice and the condemnation of communication and actions that promote and/or express hatred, discrimination, intolerance, and violence.