Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room October 1, 2015

| Committee Members Present: | Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Dr. Oran P. Smith, and Mr. Eugene C. Spivey |
|-----------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| Committee Members Not Present: | Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr. and Dr. Samuel J. Swad |
| Other Board Members Present: | Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. H. Delan Stevens and Mr. William E. Turner III |
| Others Present: | Dr. Aneilya K. Barnes, Dr. John P. Beard, Ms. Carolyn S. Bender, Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. Barbara A. Burd, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Josh Chesson, Ms. Lori Church, Dr. Debbie Conner, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Matt Hogue, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Beverly J. Landrum, Dr. James O. Lucken, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Christine L. Mee, Dr. Brandi A. Neal, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Mr. Mark Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Dr. Michael Ruse, Dr. Kenneth W. Small Jr., Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Ms. Kathy T. Watts |

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the meeting to order at 2:15 p.m.

Smith moved to approve the August 6, 2015, minutes of the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee. Sam Frink seconded and the motion carried.

Faculty Senate Chair Brian Bunton stated that President David DeCenzo discussed joining the Sun Belt Conference and fielded questions at the September senate meeting. Bunton looks forward to further communications between the faculty and the administration.

Academic & Assessment Committee October 1, 2015

Chairman Wyatt Henderson stated that he will be appointing members of the Board of Trustees to the Senate committees.

Provost & Executive Vice President Ralph Byington reported that additional resource centers and additional tutors are available across campus. Retention for students attending a tutoring session is 65%. Mandatory tutoring has been implemented for high DFW courses. Faculty and advisors are to be applauded for their willingness to accommodate the students in all the colleges.

Dean of the College of Science Mike Roberts added that chemistry has established an online program for students in preparation to taking chemistry. By the first chemistry exam, 40% of the students had completed the program. As a result, students who completed the program had an average of 80% and the ones who did not had an average of 60%.

DeCenzo stated that we continue to grow our graduate programs and has been pleased with efforts to fill the needs of the region and our students. There is a need for a Doctorate of Business Administration.

Trip DuBard moved to establish a B.A. in Anthropology and Geography (Motion 15-48). Gene Spivey seconded and the motion carried.

DuBard made a motion to establish a M.Ed. in Instructional Technology (Motion 15-49). Frink seconded and the motion carried.

Two new graduate programs--Instruction Technology and Sports Management--began this fall.

Byington noted that the CHE Summary Report was included in their packet of information.

All were in agreement to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel and contractual matters. Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

Smith moved and everyone agreed to approve awarding emeritus professor to Kenneth Rogers at his retirement (Motion 15-50). The motion carried.

Smith moved and everyone was in agreement to invite S.C. Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman to be the speaker at December commencement and receive an honorary degree; and, alumnus Michael Kelly speaker at May Commencement and receive an honorary degree (Motion 15-51).

As there was no further business, the committee adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey Recorder