#### Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

## Executive & Audit Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room May 7 and 8, 2015

Board Members Present:	Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad and Mr. William E. Turner III
Others Present:	Mr. Doug Bell, Ms. Carolyn S. Bender, Ms. Stacie A. Bowie, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Mr. Josh Chesson, Ms. Lori G. Church, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Matt Hogue, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Ms. Anne T. Monk, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Mr. Robert L. Rabon, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Gregory T. Thompson and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Charles Perry of the <u>Sun News</u> was in attendance.)

#### Executive Session - Thursday, May 7, 2015

<u>Board Members</u> <u>Present:</u>	Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Fred F. DuBard III, Mr. Samuel Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad and Mr. William E. Turner III
<u>Others Present:</u>	Ms. Stacie Bowie, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Meredith Canady, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Edgar L. Dyer, Mr. Matt Hogue, Mr. Mark Mitchell, M. William Plate, Mr. Timothy Meacham, Ms. Jennifer Packard and Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the Executive Session to order at 1:10 p.m. Will Turner made a motion to go into Executive Session to discuss legal updates contractual and personnel issues. Gene Spivey seconded and the motion carried.

#### Executive & Audit Committee May 7 and May 8, 2015

Upon reconvening, it was noted that no action was taken.

A list of suggested commencement speakers from a committee chaired by Margaret Fain was reviewed. The August commencement speaker will be Dr. Pam Martin, Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Lecturer. The President's Office will then work through the list of suggestions for other commencements.

All were in agreement to promote the following to Senior Instructor: Nyeita M. Irish, Timothy Meyler, Shannon Stewart, and Sara Sobota (Motion 15-14) and bestow Emeritus Professor to Patricia Piver at her retirement (Motion 15-22).

## **Executive and Audit Committee Meeting – Friday, May 8, 2015**

Chairman Wyatt Henderson brought the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

# Lyles Lyles moved to approve the committee minutes of February 27, 2015. Oran Smith seconded and the motion carried.

Consistent with moving the profile of the University forward, University Counsel Tim Meacham and Provost Ralph Byington reported that the CCU Research Foundation has been established as a 501(c)3 corporation to raise and manage public and private grant resources to promote research and development activities. We will have to go to a private market for coverage which will require an MOU.

#### Oran Smith moved to accept the Memorandum of Understanding between Coastal Carolina University Research Foundation, Inc. and Coastal Carolina University (Motion 15-24). Delan Stevens seconded and the motion carried.

Byington reported that the external preliminary audit will be held in June and the final audit will take place after Labor Day. CHE has required that we audit the state lottery monies.

Controller Lori Church provided a lengthy list of internal audits that have been performed this year.

Sam Swad moved to go into executive session to discuss personnel matters. Will Turner seconded and the motion carried. Upon reconvening it was noted that no action was taken.

As there was no further business, Gene Spivey moved to adjourn and Delan Steven seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey for Charles E. Lewis Secretary/Treasure