Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee Atheneum Hall, William H. Alford Ballroom August 3, 2017

Committee Members

Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey,

Present:

Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., and Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Committee Members

Not Present:

Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson and Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Other Board

Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. Patrick Sparks, and

Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present:

Members Present:

Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Jean Ann Brakefield, Dr. Brian Bunton, Ms. Susan Butcher, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Josh M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Martha Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Jane E. Johansen, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Rein Mungo, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard,

Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Dr. Reneé Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Mr. Gregory T. Thompson

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media was in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee to order at 2:45 p.m.

Smith moved to approve the May 4, 2017 Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee minutes. The following sentence was changed to: "For information only, Byington stated that there were two promotions to Senior Lecturer/Instructor and 20 post tenure reviews—seven received acceptable exceptional rating and eleven received favorable rating." Dan Moore seconded with this correction, and the motion carried.

Faculty Senate Chair Reneé Smith reported that the Faculty Senate Executive Committee included: Reneé Smith, Chair (Philosophy); Matt Wilkinson, Vice Chair (Sociology); Kyle Holody, Secretary (Communication); Brian Bunton, Parliamentarian (Physics); and Monica Streicher, Recorder (Provost's Office). At the July Faculty Senate a new minor in Middle Grades Education Social Studies and a new Graduate Certificate in Healthcare Administration were approved. The 2017-2018 goals are to support

Academic & Assessment Committee August 3, 2017

the Academic Mission of the University and to articulate and promote the Teacher-Scholar Model for Coastal Carolina University.

Executive Vice President and Provost Ralph Byington introduced the new University College Dean, Dr. Sara Hottinger.

Will Turner moved to hire with tenure Melvin Davis as University Librarian (Motion 17-35). Smith seconded, and the motion carried.

Smith made a motion to approve establishing a Masters of Arts in Communication (Motion 17-36). Delan Stevens seconded. The motion passed. Dean Dan Innis added that Communication is the largest undergraduate major in the College of Humanities and Fine Arts.

The South Carolina Higher Education tracking program and planning and proposals list of four were reviewed. Three of them will be coming off shortly.

As there was no further business, Gene Spivey moved to adjourn and Chuck Lewis seconded. The meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder