### Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

#### Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room May 4, 2017

Committee Members Present:	Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., and Dr. Oran P. Smith
<b>Committee Members</b> <b>Not Present:</b>	Mr. Eugene C. Spivey
Other Board Members Present:	Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Marion B. Lee, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and Mr. William E. Turner III
Others Present:	Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Josh M. Chesson, Ms. Whitney Comer, Dr. Debbie Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Nelljean Rice, Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media was in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee to order at 1:30 p.m.

Sam Swad moved to approve the February 23, 2017 Committee minutes. Sam Frink seconded. The motion was approved.

Faculty Senate Chair Brian Bunton reported that the Faculty Senate elections were held and the new Executive Committee includes:

Renee Smith, Chair Matt Wilkinson, Vice Chair Kyle Holody, Secretary Brian Bunton, Parliamentarian

The Senate has approved a few changes to the catalog and finalized the new core curriculum which will be coming on line in the fall. In order to insure that the Quality Enhancement Program (QEP) is part of

### Academic & Assessment Committee May 4, 2017

every student's experience, it will be a graduation requirement in 2018. Changes in the promotion and tenure process will be brought forward to the Board of Trustees in October to enforce teaching as career instead of tenure tract.

Smith added that the core curriculum will officially be in effect in fall for students. Courses will be allowed to count in multiple different areas and focuses on critical thinking which has not been emphasized before now. The curriculum is more flexible.

Provost and Executive Vice President Ralph Byington reported that Peter Seifarth, a senior theatre arts major is the first CCU student to receive a Fulbright U.S. Student Program Study/Research Grant. He will conduct research in Nepal on new and effective Nepali forms of sociopolitical physical theater.

Byington reviewed growth graphs within the colleges on campus.

- Last year was a flat year for new students. This year there is a substantial increase in humanities and fine arts.
- Graduate enrollment in education is doing extremely.
- Increase in undergraduate programs and certificates increased from 67 to 73.
- Increase in graduate program from 13 to 21. Ph.D. in education will be a great enhancement and is needed in the area.
- Total number of experiential learning sections has increased from 230 in 2012-13 to 419 in 2016-17 or enrolled students from 1,875 to 3,886.

# Dan Moore made a motion to approve the bestowal of Emeritus Professor to Eldred E. "Wink" Prince at his retirement (Motion 17-28). Frink seconded, and the motion carried.

Moore moved to approve the bestowal of Emeritus Professor to John P. Beard at his retirement (Motion 17-29). Swad seconded, and the motion passed.

# Moore made a motion to hire with tenure rank of full professor to Sara N. Hottinger as Dean of University College (Motion 17-30). Frink, seconded, and the motion carried.

For information only, Byington stated that there were two promotions to Senior Lecturer/Instructor and 20 post tenure reviews—seven received acceptable rating and eleven received favorable rating.

Byington presented an update on the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education programs and the three new master programs--music technology; language, literacy, and culture; and health communication.

As there was nothing further to discuss, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder