Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room October 26, 2017

Committee Members

Present

Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Dr. Oran P.

Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, and

Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Committee Member

Members Present:

Not Present:

Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson

Other Board

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Samuel H.

Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson,

Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, and

Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present:

Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Julie Cheney, Mr. Josh M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Mr. Melvin Davis, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Jane E. Johansen, Mr. Timothy E.

Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. William M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Dr. Reneé Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel

Stalvey, Ms. Carlie Todd, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media was in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

Sam Swad moved to approve the August 3, 2017 Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee minutes. Gene Spivey seconded. The motion carried.

Faculty Senate Chair Renée Smith stated that policies in the Strategic Management Committee are being reviewed. The Senate approved a motion to endorse the Paris climate accord regarding greenhouse emissions.

Academic & Assessment Committee October 26, 2017

Provost Ralph Byington stated that the semester is moving along nicely, although three days of classes were missed with the hurricane evacuation. The hours will be made up. Newly hired University Librarian Melvin Davis is working on the university archives.

- Swad moved to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the retirement of Roy Talbert Jr. and Emeritus Professor to Cathy R. Jones (Motion 17-47). Chuck Lewis seconded, and the motion carried.
- Swad moved to accept the following Faculty Manual changes (Motions 17-48 through 51)
 - Motion 48: The faculty member may elect to use criteria in place immediately prior to existing criteria if the latter have been implemented within the six years prior to the candidate seeking promotion and the faculty member may elect to use criteria in place immediately prior to existing criteria if the latter have been implemented within the six years prior to the candidate seeking promotion. Include the following word change: All annual reports, evaluations (including the chair's/supervisor's evaluation of the file annual evaluations, and supporting documents as per college/library policies.
 - Motion 49: All annual reports, evaluations, (including the Chair's/Supervisor's evaluation of the file annual evaluations, and supporting documents as per College/Library policies.
 - o Motion 50: Lengthen timelines for grievance procedure and forfeiture of tenure.
 - Motion 51: Reduce time of eligibility for promotion to Senior Lecturer and Senior Instructor from six to five years.

Gene Spivey seconded all motions, and they all passed.

- Spivey moved to approve a Masters of Fine Arts in Physical Theatre, which is currently self-sufficient and requires no additional staff, and in collaboration with Academia dell'Arte, an Italian university (Motion 17-52). Swad seconded. The motion carried.
- Spivey moved to approve a Masters of Arts in Applied Politics which will be the only applied politics offered in the state and has two tracks--one in Governing and one in Advocacy (Motion 17-53). Swad seconded. The motion passed. This major will require the addition of three new faculty. During Federal elections, Coastal Carolina University should be the "go to place" to provide polling center data to all candidates and various entities for contracted services. This will be a beneficial enhancement for the Dyer Institute.
- Swad made a motion to accept The Honorable Luke Rankin as the December commencement speaker (Motion 17-54). Spivey seconded, and the motion passed.
- Swad moved to bestow the following honorary degrees to Luke Rankin, Doctor of Public Service; Covia Stanley, Doctor of Science; Charles Sasser, Doctor of Science (Motion 17-55). Spivey seconded. The motion carried.

Academic & Assessment Committee October 26, 2017

Three master's degree programs are in various stages of review by the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education--Master of Arts in Music Technology, Master of Science in Integrated Biology, and Master of Arts in communication

As there was no further business, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder