Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room August 2, 2018

Committee Members

Present:

Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. D. Wyatt

Henderson, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., Mr. Eugene C. Spivey,

and Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Committee Members

Not Present:

Mr. H. Delan Stevens

Other Board Members

Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Others Present:

Ms. Sandra A. Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Ms. Susan Butcher, Dr. Brian Bunton, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Julie M. Cheney, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Julianne H. Cooke, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. Melvin D. Davis, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Mr. D'Andre

Fletcher, Mr. David A. Frost, Ms. Kasey D. Harrington, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Ms. Jennifer H. Hughes, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Ms. Jasmine Jackson, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Ms. Robyn A. Jones,

Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Rein T. Mungo, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. Willliam M. Plate Jr., Dr. Barbara A. Ritter, Mr. Mark A. Roach, Dr. Michael H. Roberts, Dr. Reneé J. Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Bryan Steros, Mr. Gregory T. Thompson, Mr. John Vrooman, and

Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. None were in attendance.)

Chairman Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 2:20 p.m.

Spivey made a motion to approve the May 3, 2018 Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting minutes. Sam Swad seconded, and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee August 2, 2018

Faculty Senate Chair Reneé Smith distributed a 2017-2018 Faculty Senate report. Last year Faculty Senate passed 35 administrative actions (new and revised courses, programs, and policies) and two resolutions (support of the Paris Agreement and recognition for Monica Streicher who has served as Faculty Senate recorder). Other activities for the year included the Teacher-Scholar Model Statement, Mentoring Needs Assessment Survey, Pilot of New Student Evaluation of Teaching (SET) Questions; Ad hoc committees on Administrator Evaluations and Non-tenure Track Faculty; and collect and post committee reports from 16 standing committees.

Provost and Executive Vice President Ralph Byington stated that the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education has approved three new degree programs: M.A. in Communication, M.A. in Education and a Ph.D. in Education.

SACS recently sent Coastal Carolina University a fifth year evaluation which had one minor action item that has already been addressed.

When hired, Willam G. Ambrose will be reviewing tenure applications which necessitates his being hired with tenure.

Gene Spivey made a motion to hire with tenure William G. Ambrose Jr. as Vice Dean for the School of Coastal Environment and professor (Motion 18-41). Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

Dean Michael Roberts noted that while undergraduate statics is a broad degree, a proposed applied statistics will hone in on administrative skills and take research to the next level. An applied statistics major will give students an advantage to elicit comparisons and identify influences from accumulated data.

Wyatt Henderson moved to establish a B.S. in Applied Statistics (Motion 18-42), and Charles Lewis seconded. The motion carried.

Two new proposed Bachelor of Fine Arts programs--Studio Art and Visual Communication Design—are expansions of degrees already in place. There will be some additional costs because more square footage will be required in rental space.

Daniel Moore moved to establish two (2) new separate Bachelor of Fine Arts programs: Studio Art and Visual Communication Design (Motion 18-43). Spivey seconded. The motion passed.

Within a 24-hour period, the University lost two gifted professors. The following motions will be bestowed posthumously in recognition of their service to Coastal Carolina University.

Spivey made a motion to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus to Karen Maguire in honor of her 14 years of service (Motion 18-49). Swad seconded, and the motion carried.

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee August 2, 2018

Lewis moved to bestow Emeritus Professor to Jeffrey P. Linder to honor his 30 years of service (18-50). Spivey seconded. The motion was adopted.

As there was no further business, Moore moved to adjourn and Spivey seconded. The committee adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Chyrel Stalvey

Chyrel Stalvey Recorder