Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee Wall Boardroom December 17, 2019

Committee Members Present: Mr. Lee A. Belcher, via teleconference: Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W.R. Moore, Sr., Dr. Oran Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey and Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Committee Member Not Present: None

Other Board Members Present: Mr. John H. Bartell, Mr. William S. Biggs, Jr., Mr. Dalton B. Floyd, Jr., Ms. Natasha Hanna, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Mr. William E. Turner, III.

Others Present: Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Mr. Jamieson Bilella, Ms. Susan Butcher, Dr. T. Brian Bunton, Mr. Joshua Chesson, Dr. Debbie Conner, Ms. Julianne Cooke, Ms. Amanda Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Ms. Lydia Deeck, Dr. Edgar Dyer, III, Dr. Daniel Ennis, Mr. David Frost, Mr. Stephen Harrison, Mr. Matthew Hogue, Dr. Sara Hottinger, Ms. Martha Hunn, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Mr. Carlos Johnson, Ms. Kitty Lewis, Mr. Travis Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Ms. Julie Quinn, Dr. Barbara Ritter, Dr. Michael Roberts, Mr. David Roper, Mr. Mike Ryhal, Ms. Olga Shabeka, Mr. Gregory Thompson, Ms. Kasey Ward, Dr. Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance: Mr. Tyler Fleming and Ms. Katie Powell)

Oran Smith called the Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee meeting to order at 9:18 a.m.

Daniel Moore moved to approve the October 10, 2019 Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee meeting minutes. Charles Lewis seconded, and the motion passed.

Dr. T. Brian Bunton, Faculty Senate Chair, presented the Faculty Senate Report. The new Faculty Senate Executive Committee consists of Adam Chamberlain as Vice Chair, Diane Fribance as Secretary and Drew Kurlowski as Parliamentarian. An ad hoc committee on academic integrity has been formed and they are currently meeting. The faculty appreciates the open communication from the Board regarding the Presidential search.

Dr. Daniel Ennis, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, reported on the Admissions and Retention Update. Regarding Fall 2019 demographic trends, the overall headcount is -1.6% since 2016. New recruitment plans are in place for Fall 2020 which include 6% increase in transfer students and enrolling a freshman class of at least 2,300 students (which was the same

Academic Affairs & Assessment Committee December 17, 2019

size of Fall 2019). There have been short-term changes that have been made as of July 1, 2019. These include intentional communication with applicants who matriculate elsewhere, increased outreach to technical schools and statewide high school counselor outreach.

Dr. Edgar Dyer, III, esteemed Faculty Emeritus, reported that the increasing of lottery funds by CHE is in its preliminary stage. Dyer stated that increasing the lottery funds now would be good, as South Carolina's Senate Education Chair is very student oriented.

Mike Ryhal, Coastal's Legislative Liaison, stated the state's legislation had focused on K-12 retention throughout their last meeting. They were focused on how to properly prepare the students in order for them to succeed at a four-year university. One of the main issues addressed was the loss of scholarships of students in the first year.

Moore moved to approve the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus for Dr. Treelee MacAnn upon her retirement on May 15, 2020 after thirty years of service (Motion 19-59). Lewis seconded, and the motion passed.

As there was no additional business, Smith moved to adjourn. Moore seconded and the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydía Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder