Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Committee and Executive Sessions E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room February 22, 2019

Board Members

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Ms. Natasha M. Hanna,

Mr. D. Wyatt **Present:**

Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. Charles E.

Lewis,

Mr. Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., Mr. George E. Mullen, Dr. Oran P. Smith, Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Dr. Samuel J. Swad, and

Mr. William E. Turner III

Board Members Not Present:

Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. William L. Lyles Jr., and Mr. Patrick S. Sparks

Others Present: Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph

Byington,

Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Melvin D. Davis, Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Mr. David A. Frost, Ms. Martha S. Hunn, Ms. Robyn A. Jones, Mr. Timothy

E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton,

Ms. Jennifer Packard, Mr. David Roper, Mr. Mike Ryhal, Ms. Diane F.

Sanders,

Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, Mr. Bryan Steros, Mr. Stovall Witte, and Mr.

David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media attended.)

Vice Chairman Carlos Johnson brought the Executive Committee meeting to order at 9:45 a.m.

Oran Smith made a motion to approve the December 14, 2018 Executive Committee and Executive Sessions' minutes. Will Turner seconded. The motion passed.

Smith moved to award an honorary degree of Doctor of Public Service to former trustee Robert L. Rabon (Motion 19-11). Delan Stevens seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

Wyatt Henderson made a motion to accept the Ad-Hoc Presidential Search Advisory Committee list of participants as submitted (see attached list) (Motion 19-12). Dan Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

As there was no further business, everyone agreed to adjourn.

Respectfully submitted,

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey Recorder

| Presidential Search Advisory Committee | Name | Position/Affiliation | Accepted |
|--|------------------------------|---------------------------------------|------------|
| Board Member | Bill Biggs | Chair, Board of Trustees | Х |
| Board Member | Carlos Johnson | Chair, Presidential Search Committee | Х |
| Board Member | Wyatt Henderson | Board of Trustee Member | Х |
| Board Member | Natasha Hanna | Board of Trustee Member | Х |
| Board Member | Gene Spivey | Board of Trustee Member | Х |
| Board Member | Oran Smith | Board of Trustee Member | Х |
| Board Member | Delan Stevens | Board of Trustee Member | Х |
| Representative (Chair) from Faculty Senate | Renee Smith | Chair Faculty Senate/COHFA | Х |
| Representative (Chair) from Staff Senate | David Yancey | Chair Staff Senate/Administration | Х |
| One Faculty Member | Jerome Christia | WCOB | Х |
| One Staff Member | Frankie Weeks | Academic Advising | Х |
| One Athletic Administrator | Matt Hogue | Athletics | Х |
| One Dean | Sara Hottinger | HTC Honors College & Center for IDS | Х |
| Representative from Administration's Executive Council | David Frost | CFO | Х |
| Representative from Student Government | D'Andre Fletcher | President/Past President | Х |
| Representative from Coastal Alumni Association | Todd Setzer | Chair, Alumni Association | Х |
| Representative from Coastal Educational Foundation | Carl Falk | Chair/CEF | Х |
| Representative from the Coastal Athletic Foundation | Nicolle Gainey | Chair/CAF | Х |
| Representative from Horry County Higher Education Commission | Elizabeth Saraniti | Chair/ HCHEC | Х |
| University Support Coordinator (Non-Voting) | Travis Overton | President's Office | Х |
| WCOB = Wall College of Business; COHFA = College of Hu | Imanities and Fine Arts; and | HCHEC = Horry County Higher Education | Commission |



Board of Trustees Meetings Executive Sessions Motions February 21-22, 2019

Motion 1: Motion to move into executive session to review: Legal Matters

<u>Following Individuals remain:</u> **President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Deputy**University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff

President

| 1 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Floyd | Henderson |
| SECOND | S. Johnson | Hanna |

In accordance with the Board of Trustees Bylaws, trustees must vote to allow trustee(s) to participate online in executive session. Wyatt Henderson moved to allow Chairman Bill Biggs to participate in Executive Session and Will Turner seconded. Everyone was in agreement. Biggs was teleconferenced into the meeting.

Motion 2: Motion to move into executive session to review: Personnel matters regarding administrative evaluations

Following Individuals remain: President

| 2 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Henderson | Henderson |
| SECOND | Hanna | Turner |

Motion 3: Motion to move into executive session to review: Contractual matters regarding campus consultant

<u>Following Individuals remain:</u> **President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Deputy**University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff

| 3 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Bartell | Henderson |
| SECOND | Stevens | Turner |

Motion 4: Motion to move into executive session to review: Legal briefing to discuss legal matters

<u>Following Individuals remain:</u> **President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Deputy**University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff

| 4 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Spivey | Turner |
| SECOND | Stevens | Bartell |

<u>Motion 5:</u> Motion to move into executive session to review: University Compliance and Title IX Report containing federally protected information and personnel matters

<u>Following Individuals remain:</u> **President; Executive Vice President; University Counsel; Deputy**University Counsel; Chief Audit Officer; Chief of Staff

| 5 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Stevens | Smith |
| SECOND | Spivey | Mullen |

<u>Motion 6:</u> Motion to move into executive session to review: Personnel matters regarding presidential transition

Following Individuals remain: President; Chief of Staff

| 6 | INTO EXEC SESSION | OUT OF EXEC SESSION |
|--------|-------------------|---------------------|
| MOTION | Bartell | Lewis |
| SECOND | Lyles | Spivey |