Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees Minutes

Executive Committee West Zone Suite, Brooks Stadium October 11, 2019

Committee Members Present: Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore, Sr., Mr. Eugene C. Spivey, Mr. H. Delan Stevens, Mr. William E. Turner, III

Committee Members Not Present: Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Dr. Oran P. Smith

Other Board Members Present: Mr. John H. Bartell, Jr., Mr. Lee A. Belcher, Mr. Dalton B. Floyd, Jr., Ms. Sherry I. Johnson, Mr. George E. Mullen, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks

Board Members Not Present: Dr. Samuel Swad

Others Present: Mr. Jamieson A. Bilella, Dr. Claudia Bornholdt, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Mr. Joshua Chason, Dr, Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David DeCenzo, Ms. Lydia J. Deeck, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. David A. Frost, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Dr. Sara N. Hottinger, Dr. Edward Jadallah, Mr. Carlos Johnson, Mr. Christopher A. Johnson, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Ms. Jennifer Packard, Ms. Caroline P. Rohr, Mr. David Roper, Mr. Bryan Steros, Mr. Stovall Witte, Mr. Ian Brooking, Mr. Tyler Fleming, Ms. Chelsie Whitelock

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance.)

Chairman Bill Biggs brought the Executive Committee to order at 10:24 a.m.

Patrick Sparks moved to approve the August 8, 2019 Minutes. William Turner seconded, the motion carried.

A motion to revise the University Value and Respect statement (Motion 19-53) was made by Turner. Sparks seconded, the motion carried.

Chelsie Whitelock, Principal of Buffkin/Baker, gave a review of the Presidential Search Process. She is one half of the company's search team based out of Nashville, TN. Together, they have 20 years experience in higher education searches. Their process is to help as much as possible with logistics, travel and campus interviews. They also stay in touch with the candidate after they are selected.

Executive Committee October 11, 2019

As there was no additional business, Turner moved to adjourn. Sparks seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydía Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder