Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom October 22, 2020

Committee Members Present: Oran Smith, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Daniel Moore, Eugene Spivey

Committee Member Not Present: Samuel Swad

Other Board Members Present: John Bartell, William Biggs, Lee Belcher, Natasha Hanna, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, George Mullen, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: None

Others Present: Michael Benson, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Tracy Jones, Ben Kochenower, Travis Overton, Julie Quinn, Daniel Rabon, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, Erika Small, Lila Taylor, Gregory Thompson, Mike Wallace

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance: Katie Powell of The Horry Independent and Katherine Phillips of WMBF News.)

Chair Oran Smith brought the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.

Smith introduced the newest Board of Trustee member, Lisa Davis, and welcomed her to the committee.

Smith requested that the Aug. 6, 2020, meeting minutes of the Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee be approved during the following day's General Board of Trustee Meeting since new committees have been formed.

Smith reviewed the newly formed committee's function and goals as stated in the Board of Trustee bylaws.

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs, Daniel Ennis, presented the Academic Affairs report. This included the introduction of a new program, a B.A. in Criminal Justice. This new program would be housed in the Sociology department and would complement existing

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee October 22, 2020

Criminology programs. A degree in Criminal Justice is the number one requested program from incoming freshmen and transfers. Ennis stated that two full-time faculty will be needed, but to start, part-time adjuncts will be best for evaluating enrollment in the program.

Eugene Spivey moved to approve the new program: B.A. in Criminal Justice (Motion 20-AAR-05). Dalton Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Smith requested the committee's unanimous consent to discuss the pending motion regarding Distinguished Professor Emeritus titles during Executive Session later today. Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

Ennis discussed recent academic college restructuring. Spadoni College of Education will soon house social and behavioral science programs. This move will better balance the educational units. Currently, Gupta College of Science has 4,341 students; Wall College of Business has 2,249 students; Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts has 2,023 students; and Spadoni College of Education has 987 students. This new reformation of Spadoni College of Education will include graduate programs in social sciences which will will assist with the regional demand from potential students with a background in human services.

Ennis discussed recent approvals from the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (CHE); B.F.A.s in Visual Art and Visual Communication, a B.A. and B.S. in Sustainability, and a B.M.E. in Music Education all passed in the July CHE meeting. The B.A. and B.S. in Women and Gender Studies are slated for approval this December. The M.A. in Applied Politics is currently on hold until Coastal obtains a better realization of the enrollment for this program.

Amanda Craddock, Associate Provost for Enrollment Management, gave an enrollment update. While incoming first-year and transfer numbers are down, the first-year retention rate is up 5% from last year with 1,690 (73%) sophomores returning this year. Craddock credits outreach from first-year advisers along with her office's ability to pivot virtually to keep students engaged. In addition to the increase in first-year retention, there is an increase in deferments for spring and fall 2021 starts. There are approximately 170 defers currently, compared to approximately 60 in previous years. An outreach campaign is ongoing to stay connected with these students.

Faculty Senate Chair, Dr. Brian Bunton, presented the Faculty Senate report. Since COVID-19 is still a very present focus in day-to-day life, faculty are dealing with a different set of issues than originally anticipated for the current term. When the University announced the return of face-to-face classes, faculty thought there were going to be challenges with students refusing to wear masks or issues of a similar nature, but other issues related to managing online learning expectations from students and technical challenges have been more frequent. The stress that faculty are dealing with is attributed to them caring so much.

This year, Faculty Senate has created an Office of Academic Integrity with a full-time faculty position. This is in line with the culture of Coastal Carolina University and faculty ownership. In addition, Faculty Senate is pleased with their conversations with the Provost regarding shared governance. As a whole, the faculty are in a better place than when the last Faculty Senate report

Academic Affairs and Retention Committee October 22, 2020

was given in August. They are looking forward to the new future of education and are standing strong and resolute.

As there was no additional business, Daniel Moore, moved to adjourn. Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

The Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting was reopened after the conclusion of the Facilities and Planning Committee meeting.

Smith moved to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus and Emeritus Professor title requests for tenured faculty to be awarded upon retirement (Motion 20-AAR-06). Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

The title of Emeritus Professor will be awarded to Ray Moye at the time of his retirement. The title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus will be awarded to Carol Osborne, Steven Madden, and Henry Lowenstein at the time of their retirements.

Chair Smith requested that the prior motion to adjourn be applied.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder