Minutes Coastal Carolina University

Board of Trustees

Singleton Ballroom August 7, 2020

Presiding: Chairman William S. Biggs

Board Members Present: John H. Bartell Jr., Lee A. Belcher, Dalton B. Floyd Jr., Natasha M. Hanna, D. Wyatt Henderson, Sherry I. Johnson, Charles E. Lewis, Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., Jason M. Repak, Oran P. Smith, Patrick S. Sparks, Eugene C. Spivey, William E. Turner III

Board Members Not Present: George E. Mullen, H. Delan Stevens, Samuel J. Swad

Others Present: Claudia Bornholdt, Brian Bunton, Brandt Branham, Amanda Craddock, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, Edward Jadallah, David Frost, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Carlos Johnson, Travis Overton, Peter Paquette, Julie Quinn, Michael Roberts, Jerry Rashid, Erika Small, Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Three members of the media were in attendance: Alan Blondin of The Sun News, Rob Blomquist of WMBF News, and Katie Powell of The Horry Independent.)

Chairman William Biggs brought the meeting to order at 10:13 a.m. It was noted that Trustees George Mullen, Delan Stevens, and Samuel Swad were excused. Oran Smith offered an invocation.

Introductions

President David DeCenzo introduced:

• Brant Branham, Coastal Carolina's Legislative Liaison

DeCenzo recognized:

• The loss of a close, personal friend of the University, Will Garland. A moment of silence was observed in memoriam.

Board of Trustees Meeting August 7, 2020

I. Roll Call

Roll call was taken by Julie Quinn, Administrative Coordinator.

II. Approval of Minutes

William Turner moved to approve the Feb. 21, 2020, April 3, 2020, April 17, 2020, May 8, 2020, May 26, 2020, June 16, 2020, June 26, 2020, and July 8, 2020, full Board of Trustees minutes. Dalton Floyd seconded, and the motion carried.

III. President's Report

The President relayed the CEF Financial Report from Stovall Witte, Chief Executive Officer of the Coastal Educational Foundation.

• The Coastal Educational Foundation is doing well thanks to the stock market. Due to this, the foundation has grown 4-5%.

IV. Executive Session – not needed

V. Standing Committee Motions

Academic Affairs and Assessment Committee

• Oran Smith moved to approve promotion to Senior Lecturer recommendations (Motion 20-ACA-02). Lee Belcher seconded, and the motion carried.

The following individuals have been promoted to rank of Senior Lecturer: Matt Lykins, Elizabeth Muckensturm, Erin Parker, Eric Rosch, and Stephanie Southworth.

• Smith moved to bestow Distinguished Professor Emeritus titles to requesting faculty upon their retirement (Motion 20-ACA-03). Daniel Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were awarded the title of Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the time of their retirement: Susan Libes, Margaret Fain, Samuel Wathen, John Mortimer, Karen Aguirre, and Carol Megehee.

• Smith moved to approve the appointment of Professor with tenure to the new Associate Dean of the Spadoni College of Education, Hsing-Wen Hu (Motion 20-ACA-04). Moore seconded, and the motion carried.

Student Affairs and Retention Committee

No action items.

Finance, Planning and Facilities Committee

• Wyatt Henderson moved to request authority to exercise administrative discretion with regard to entering into four-month leases, each with possible renewable terms, with off-campus student housing properties near campus effective Aug. 15, 2020, through Dec. 14, 2020, for up to 100 beds. (Motion 20-FPF-18). Turner seconded, and the motion carried.

Advancement, Marketing and Alumni Affairs Committee

No action items.

Athletics Committee

No action items.

Government Affairs Committee

No action items.

Audit Committee

No action items.

Executive Committee

• Biggs moved to approve the amended Board of Trustees Bylaws to revise the language for several operations of the Board of Trustees, which includes a designation of new committees for the Board of Trustees (Motion 20-EXC-01). Turner seconded, and the motion went to a roll call vote where the motion carried.

Natasha Hanna recognized the Bylaws Ad Hoc Committee for their hard work: Lee Belcher, Sherry Johnson, and Dalton Floyd.

• Biggs moved to confirm the review of the Coastal Carolina University Mission Statement (Motion 20-EXC-02). Turner seconded, and the motion carried.

Board of Trustees Meeting August 7, 2020

VI. Chairman's Report

The Board of Trustees meetings for 2020-2021 are as follows: Oct. 22-23, Dec. 15, Feb. 18-19, and May 6-7.

After a quick survey of the trustees, they mutually agreed to continue to hold their meetings in the Singleton Ballroom.

The August virtual graduation is at 6:00 p.m. this evening.

VII. Adjournment

As there was no more business, Biggs moved to adjourn the meeting in honor of Will Garland. Johnson seconded, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder