Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Government Affairs Committee Virtually via Zoom May 8, 2020

Committee Members Present: Natasha Hanna, John Bartell, Dalton Floyd, George Mullen, Samuel Swad

Other Board Members Present: Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Wyatt Henderson, Sherry Johnson, Daniel Moore, Jason Repak, Oran Smith, Patrick Sparks, Eugene Spivey, William Turner

Board Members Not Present: Delan Stevens

Others Present: Claudia Bornholdt, Brian Bunton, David DeCenzo, Lydia Deeck, Daniel Ennis, David Frost, Sara Hottinger, Martha Hunn, Edward Jadallah, Carlos Johnson, Travis Overton, Michael Roberts, Caroline Rohr, David Yancey, Robert Young

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Seven members of the media were in attendance: Rob Blomquist of WMBF, Josh Davis of WPDE, Brad Dickerson of WMBF, Tyler Fleming of The Sun News, Taylor Hernandez of WBTW, Katherine Phillips of WMBF and Katie Powell of My Horry News)

Chair Natasha Hanna called the Government Affairs Committee meeting to order at 11:07 a.m.

George Mullen moved to approve the February 20, 2020 Government Affairs Committee meeting minutes. John Bartell seconded and the motion passed.

President David DeCenzo gave a brief update on local government activity. Coastal is currently in a financial holding pattern while waiting for the state's decision on the continuing resolution. The South Carolina General Assembly is due back in session on May 12, 2020 and they should make their decision at this time.

As there was no additional business, Mullen moved to adjourn. Bartell seconded and the motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck Lydia Deeck Recorder