## Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

## Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Singleton Ballroom February 17, 2022

Committee Members Present: Oran Smith, Lisa Davis, Dalton Floyd, Joe Jarrett, Gene Spivey

**Committee Members Not Present:** John Bartell (Excused)

Other Board Members Present: Lee Belcher, William Biggs, Natasha Hanna, Sherry Johnson, Mark Kelley, George Mullen, Bradley Poston, Jason Repak, Patrick Sparks, Delan Stevens

**Board Members Not Present:** William Turner (Excused)

Others Present: Rachel Abarbanell, Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Michael Benson, Claudia Bornholdt, Lee Brown, Brian Bunton, Amanda Craddock, Kathy Daley, Daniel Ennis, Monica Fine, Amanda Foss, David Frost, Emily Griffin, Stephen Harrison, Matthew Hogue, Sara Hottinger, Carlos Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Thomas Koczara, Jeremy Monday, Travis Overton, Jerry Rashid, David Roper, Diane Sanders, James Solazzo, Atiya Stokes-Brown, Holley Tankersley

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. Two members of the media were in attendance: Jacob Hensley with The Chanticleer and Katie Powell with MyHorryNews.com.)

Chairman Oran Smith called the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee meeting to order.

Gene Spivey moved to approve the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Meeting minutes from Dec. 13, 2021. Lisa Davis seconded, and the motion carried with no objections.

Davis moved to approve promotion and tenure recommendations. (Motion 22-AAR-01) Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Joe Jarrett moved to approve Vanessa Wyche as the Spring 2022 Keynote Speaker and award her the honorary degree of Doctor of Science. (Motion 22-AAR-02) Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Spivey moved to bestow Emeritus title request for faculty to be awarded upon retirement. (Motion 22-AAR-03) Davis seconded, and the motion carried.

At the time of retirement, the following faculty will be awarded Emeritus titles: Gregory Krippel, Distinguished Professor Emeritus.

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost, Daniel Ennis, provided the following report:

## Academic Affairs and Retention Committee Meeting February 17, 2022

- The University has interviewed finalists for the Wall College of Business and Gupta College of Science Deanships. A final decision will be made in a couple of weeks.
- CCU has been in compliance with the REACH Act law and continues to be in compliance with revisions that passed last year.
- Ennis invited Dean of Graduate and Continuing Studies, Lee Brown, to discuss information regarding Complete College America.

Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management, Amanda Craddock, provided an update including spring 2021 enrollment and fall 2022 applications.

Vice President for Student Success, Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, James Solazzo, presented information on retention for fall 2021 to spring 2022 and fall 2021 to fall 2022.

As there was no additional business at the time, Davis moved to adjourn. Spivey seconded, and the motion carried.

Chairman Smith reconvened the Academic Affairs and Retention Committee for additional business.

Smith moved that the Board of Trustees approve salary ranges that were presented in regards to the academic college dean searches in progress and authorize the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs to finalize the hiring agreements for these positions within these ranges. Jarret seconded, and the motion carried.

As there was no additional business, Spivey moved to adjourn. There were no objections, and the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Christina Genovevo Recorder