NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.



Faculty Senate

December 5, 2018
Meeting Minutes
www.coastal.edu/facultysenate

Note: The remarks of the senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. The recording of this meeting is available in the Faculty Senate Recorder's office.

PRESENT: Subhajit Chakraborty, Mitchell Church, Vicki King-Skinner, Richard Martin, Arlise McKinney, Nicholas Rhew, Andy Weinbach, Suzanne Horn, Cheryl Morgan, Sandra Nelson, Jim Arendt, Ellen Arnold, Elizabeth Baltes, Aneilya Barnes, Adam Chamberlain, Susan Bergeron, Jeffry Halverson, Kyle Holody, Richard Johnson, Alejandro Munoz-Garces, John Navin, Kate Oestreich, Gillian Richards-Greaves, Kimberly Schumacher, Christian Smith, Renee Smith, Benjamin Sota, Logan Woodle, Todd Wren, Debendra Banjade, Brian Bunton, Gibson Darden, Mark Diehl, Wanda Dooley, Diane Fribance, Clint Fuchs, Erin Hackett, Keshav Jagannathan, Kelly Johnson, Kerry Schwanz, Susan Montenery, Michael Murphy, Zhixiong Shen, Bryan Wakefield, Daniel Williams, Tally Wright, Andrew Busch, Ina Seethaler, Scott Bacon, Allison Faix

SUBSTITUTIONS: Nilo Ramos for James Davis, Kaitlyn Sidorksy for Drew Kurlowski, Ray Moye for Anna Oldfield, Jonathan Acuff for Min Ye

ABSENT: Jessica Doll, Nicole Schoenecker, Lindsey Pritchard, Sara Brallier, Roi Gurka, Craig Boylstein, James Solazzo

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Approval of the November 7, 2018 minutes were moved by Brian Bunton and seconded by Aneilya Barnes. **The minutes passed (48 in favor, 0 not in favor, 0 abstain).**

CONSENT AGENDA:

• Two minor editorial changes need to be made to the Consent Agenda regarding HIST 306 – The French Revolution and PHYS 213L – Fundamentals of Physics I Laboratory.

Dec. 5, 2018

All remaining items from the December 5, 2018 Consent Agenda passed.

PRESIDENT, PROVOST AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS:

President DeCenzo:

- William Plate, Vice President of University Communication, will be leaving Coastal for a Vice President position at Utah State.
- The Faculty/Staff Holiday party will be Thursday, December 13 at 5:00 PM in Alford Ballroom.
- The Board of Trustees will establish a President Ad-Hoc search committee to find a presidential replacement. The new university president's first day will be on July 1, 2021.
- The Board will make their final decision on who their presidential choice is around February 2020.

Provost Byington:

- Coastal is up 2.5% for spring undergraduate enrollment. Last year the university was at 89.2% and currently we sit at 91.3%.
- Graduate enrollment is down 4.3 % this year.
- It has been determined that the creation of a College of Graduate Studies and Research will help further the university's efforts in graduate enrollment and grant funding. The operations of this college will begin January 2019.
- Robert F. Young, Ph.D., professor of marine science and director of undergraduate research will serve as the interim dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Research.

Dr. Mark Mitchell, NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative:

• Dr. Mitchell spoke on student-athletes and their impact on the university. To view Dr. Mitchell's full report, please view the below presentation.



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Renee Smith, Chair, reported the following:

• Approval of administrative actions 05 through 09 from the November 7, 2018 meeting.

Dec. 5, 2018

NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.

COMMITTEE REPORTS: None.

OLD BUSINESS: None.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Graduate Council Committee
 - 1. The proposal to modify the Graduate Faculty Status Application was withdrawn by Erin Hackett.

Dec. 5, 2018

QUASI COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE: None.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

• Reminder to faculty that final fall 2018 grades are due December 17.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck, Faculty Senate Recorder

Approved by Renee Smith, Faculty Senate Chair