NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.



Faculty Senate

February 6, 2019 Meeting Minutes www.coastal.edu/facultysenate

Note: The remarks of the senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. The recording of this meeting is available in the Faculty Senate Recorder's office.

PRESENT: Subhajit Chakraborty, Mitchell Church, Jessica Doll, Arlise McKinney, Nicholas Rhew, James Davis, Sandra Nelson, Lindsey Pritchard, Ellen Arnold, Elizabeth Baltes, Aneilya Barnes, Adam Chamberlain, Susan Bergeron, Jeffry Halverson, Kyle Holody, Richard Johnson, Drew Kurlowski, John Navin, Kate Oestreich, Gillian Richards-Greaves, Kimberly Schumacher, Christian Smith, Renee Smith, Todd Wren, Min Ye, Brian Bunton, Gibson Darden, Mark Diehl, Diane Fribance, Clint Fuchs, Roi Gurka, Erin Hackett, Keshav Jagannathan, Kelly Johnson, , Susan Montenery, Michael Murphy, Zhixiong Shen, Doug Van Hoewyk, Bryan Wakefield, Daniel Williams, Tally Wright, Matthew Wilkinson, Andrew Busch, Ina Seethaler, Allison Faix, James Solazzo

**SUBSTITUTIONS:** Lee Shinaberger for Vicki King-Skinner, Austin Hitt for Suzanne Horn, Tiffany Hollis for Cheryl Morgan, Mark Bly for Debendra Banjade, Fredanna McGough for Wanda Dooley, Andrew Terranova for Kerry Schwanz, Steve Bleicher for Jim Arendt, Katherine Collins for Scott Bacon

**ABSENT:** Richard Martin, Andy Weinbach, Alejandro Munoz-Garces, Benajmin Sota, Logan Woodle, Sara Brallier

**APPROVAL OF MINUTES:** Approval of the December 5, 2018 minutes were moved by Aneilya Barnes and seconded by Keshav Jagannathan. <u>The minutes passed (49 in favor, 0 not in favor, 0 abstain).</u>

#### **CONSENT AGENDA:**

 Master of Arts in Applied Politics (Form D – ID# 41) was removed from the Consent Agenda and placed into New Business for discussion.

All remaining items from the February 6, 2019 Consent Agenda passed.

## PRESIDENT, PROVOST AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS:

**Provost Byington:** 

- Currently, Coastal has a 93% registration eligibility from Fall 2018 to Spring 2019. This number is the same as last year.
- There is very little growth in undergraduate spring enrollment. Coastal is only up 0.05% from last year.

### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT:**

Renee Smith, Chair, reported the following:

• Approval of administrative action 10 from the December 5, 2018 meeting.

#### **COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

Dr. Louis Keiner and Dr. Erica Small, S.E.T. pilot results

• Dr. Kiener and Dr. Small spoke on the Student Evaluation of Teaching (S.E.T.) pilot results. To view Dr. Keiner and Dr. Small's full report, please view the below presentation.



**OLD BUSINESS**: None.

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

- A. Faculty Senator Brian Bunton and seconded by Faculty Senator Kyle Holody
  - 1. Motion to modify "Instructor" title in the Faculty Manual. The motion passed (42 in favor, 5 not in favor, 0 abstain).
- B. Graduate Council (moved and seconded in committee)
  - 1. Minor editorial changes were applied to the Master of Arts in Applied Politics proposal (Form D ID# 41). The proposal passed (42 in favor, 2 not in favor, 0 abstain).



# **QUASI COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE:** None.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

- The Office of Diversity and Inclusion needs to appoint a member of Faculty Senate to the newly developed Access, Inclusion and Diversity Council (AIDC).
- The ad hoc non-tenure track faculty committee will meet in March. A survey will be going out next week.
- The ad hoc faculty/staff clubhouse committee will be meeting soon to discuss social hours and a location.
- The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) will be holding a lunch this Friday at 11:30 at Hicks Dining Hall.
- AAUP will also be having a bowling social at 810 Bowling on Wednesday, February 13 at 5:00 PM.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:57 p.m.

# Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck, Faculty Senate Recorder

Approved by Renee Smith, Faculty Senate Chair