NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.



Faculty Senate

May 15, 2019 Meeting Minutes www.coastal.edu/facultysenate

Note: The remarks of the senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. The recording of this meeting is available in the Faculty Senate Recorder's office.

PRESENT: Subhajit Chakraborty, Mitchell Church, Jessica Doll, Arlise McKinney, Nicholas Rhew, Suzanne Horn, Jim Arendt, Ellen Arnold, Elizabeth Baltes, Adam Chamberlain, Jeffry Halverson, Kyle Holody, Richard Johnson, Drew Kurlowski, John Navin, Kate Oestreich, Anna Oldfield, Gillian Richards-Greaves, Kimberly Schumacher, Aneilya Barnes, Renee Smith, Logan Woodle, Todd Wren, Min Ye, Debendra Banjade, Brian Bunton, Gibson Darden, Wanda Dooley, Diane Fribance, Erin Hackett, Keshav Jagannathan, Susan Montenery, Michael Murphy, Bryan Wakefield, Daniel Williams, Tally Wright, Matt Wilkinson, Scott Bacon, Allison Faix, James Solazzo

SUBSTITUTIONS: Lee Shinaberger for Vicki King-Skinner, John Marcis for Nicole Schoenecker, Rhonda Miller for James Davis, Dianne Mark for Cheryl Morgan, Emma Savage-Davis for Sandra Nelson, Carolyn Dillian for Susan Bergeron, Yun Sil Jeon for Alejandro Munoz-Garces, Ray Moye for Anna Oldfield, Jennifer Boyle for Christian Smith, Robin Russell for Benjamin Sota, Colleen McGlone for Mark Diehl, Erin Rickard for Clint Fuchs, Sara Brallier for Roi Gurka, Jean French for Kelly Johnson, Terry Pettijohn for Kerry Schwanz, Eric Wright for Zhixiong Shen, Michael Pierce for Doug Van Hoewyk, Jeremy Killian for Andrew Busch and Sara Rich for Ina Seethaler, Phil Njoroge for Andy Weinbach

ABSENT: Richard Martin

RECOGNIZE MEMBERS OF THE MEDIA: Katie Powell of The Horry Independent

NOTICE OF THE MEETING: The special meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to discuss recent announcements about the university's leadership, the financial stability of the university and new items related to a Board of Trustees member.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT: Due to personnel issues being of topic in this meeting, University Counsel Tim Meacham advised President DeCenzo to not attend the senate meeting or answer questions in the open forum.

NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.

Chief of Staff, Travis Overton, spoke about procedures and timelines for appointing an interim provost.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Renee Smith, Chair, reported the following:

- Prior to the senate meeting, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee met with President DeCenzo and shared about sixty questions that faculty had submitted. A shorter list was then compiled by the senate executive committee with hopes that they would be answered by the President during the senate meeting.
- These questions focused on the abrupt resignation of Dr. Byington and plans for changes in the leadership in the Provost's office, the budget, particularly the athletics budget and its effect on academics and the news about Dr. Oran Smith.
- Due to President DeCenzo's absence at senate, the senate executive committee reported the President's responses that were given in the earlier meeting.

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Faculty Senator Jim Arendt and substitute Faculty Senator Jennifer Boyle
 - 1. Motion to draft a Resolution to Articulate on recent articles about Dr. Oran Smith. **The motion passed via voice vote.**
 - A motion to refer this resolution to the Faculty Senate Executive Committee for drafting, with input from the university's Office of Diversity and Inclusion, was made by Faculty Senator Nicholas Rhew and seconded by Faculty Senator Aneilya Barnes. **The motion passed via voice vote.**
- B. Faculty Senator Brian Bunton and substitute Faculty Senator Emma Savage-Davis
 - 1. Motion to go into executive session* for purposes of discussing issues related to employment or appointment of a faculty member. The motion passed via voice vote.

No business was conducted in executive session.

Once adjourned from executive session, non-senators were invited back into the senate meeting.

C. Faculty Senator Nicholas Rhew and Faculty Senator Aneilya Barnes

NOTE: Download the meeting minutes and open in Adobe. The keyboard shortcut to open/close the navigation pane is F4. Click on the paperclip symbol to view all attachments in this document.

- 1. Motion to submit a list of four candidates (Mike Roberts, Jim Solazzo, Holley Tankersley, Rob Young) for the Interim Provost position to President DeCenzo.
 - A friendly amendment was made by Nicholas Rhew and seconded by Aneilya Barnes to preface the list of candidates with, "Given the limited amount of time..."
 - An amendment was presented by Mitchell Church to limit the list to only include Mike Roberts. **The amendment failed (3 in favor, 43 not in favor, 1 abstain.)**
 - The original motion to submit the list of four candidates passed (44 in favor, 2 not in favor, 1 abstain).

QUASI COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE: None.

ANNOUNCEMENTS: None.

*Executive session is a private meeting of the legislative body for discussion on executive business. Matters that occur in executive session are not shareable.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck, Faculty Senate Recorder

Approved by Renee Smith, Faculty Senate Chair