

Faculty Senate

May 5, 2021 Meeting Minutes www.coastal.edu/facultysenate

Note: The remarks of the senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. The recording of this meeting is available in the Faculty Senate Recorder's office.

A moment of silence was held for our colleague, Gina Cummings.

PRESENT: Subhajit Chakraborty, Bong Jeong, Robert Killins, Arlise McKinney, Leann Mischel, Andy Weinbach, James Davis, Suzanne Horn, Cheng-Yuan Lee, Nilo Ramos, Ellen Arnold, Aneilya Barnes, Elizabeth Baltes, Susan Bergeron, Andrea Bergstrom, Steven Bleicher, Adam Chamberlain, Jeffry Halverson, Steven Hamelman, Kyle Holody, Emma Howes, Drew Kurlowski, John Navin, Kate Oestrich, Kimberly Schumacher, Dory Sibley, Philip Whalen, Don Sloan, Frederick Wood, Min Ye, Miranda Brenneman, Brian Bunton, Wanda Dooley, David Duncan, Menassie Ephrem, Diane Fribance, Clint Fuchs, Paul Gayes, Siming Guo, Kelly Johnson, Jakob Lauver, Brian Lee, Amber McWilliams, Susan Montenery, Michael Murphy, Tally Wright, Kerry Schwanz, Doug Van Hoewyk, Matthew Wilkinson, Sara Rich, Ariana Baker, Allison Faix, Holley Tankersley

SUBSTITUTIONS: Deborah Perkins for Lisa Winters, Leslie Wallace for Jim Arendt, Victoria DePalma for Ina Seethaler

ABSENT: Jessica Doll, Lorraine Runion, Jake Voegel, Susan Foley, Kelly Elliot, Daniel Williams, James Everett, Alejandro Munoz-Garces, Shari Orisich, Benjamin Sota

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: The April 14, 2021 minutes were approved by unanimous consent.

CONSENT AGENDA: The May 5, 2021 consent agenda was approved by unanimous consent.

PRESIDENT, PROVOST AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS:

President Benson:

- All infrastructure is in place for the upcoming commencement ceremonies this Friday and Saturday.
- The Provost is hosting the inaugural Provost Faculty Award Reception this evening.
- Three trustees are rotating off the board this June. Those trustees are: D. Wyatt Henderson, Daniel W.R. Moore, Sr., and Samuel J. Swad. The President expresses his gratitude for their years of service.

Provost Ennis:

• Provost Ennis presented on faculty decompression. This presentation can be viewed here: <u>Decompression Presentation</u>

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Brian Bunton, Chair, reported the following:

- Approval of undergraduate administrative actions 18-25 and graduate administrative actions 6-9 from the April 14, 2021 meeting.
- Elections for the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate were held, two-year positions for Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary.
 - **Chair:** Diane Fribance nominated Brian Bunton for Faculty Senate Chair. Wanda Dooley moved to accept by acclimation.
 - Vice Chair: Brian Bunton nominated Diane Fribance for Faculty Senate Vice Chair. Kyle Holody moved to accept by acclamation.
 - Secretary: John Navin nominated Wanda Dooley for Secretary. Kyle Holody moved to accept by acclimation.

COMMITTEE REPORTS: None

OLD BUSINESS:

- A. Faculty Senate Executive Committee and Faculty Welfare Committee
 - 1. Motion to modify policy ACAD-112: Academic Deans. <u>The motion passed (45</u> <u>in favor, 1 not in favor).</u>
 - 2. Motion to modify policy ACAD-113: University Librarian. <u>The motion passed</u> (44 in favor, 2 not in favor).

NEW BUSINESS:

- A. Academic Affairs Committee
 - 1. Motion for changes to an undergraduate program: History, B.A. <u>The motion</u> passed (48 in favor, 0 not in favor).
 - 2. Motion for changes to an undergraduate program: Public Health: Pre-Health Professions Concentration, B.S. <u>The motion passed (46 in favor, 1 not in favor).</u>
 - 3. Motion to modify the Retroactive Credit in Languages in Intercultural Studies Policy. <u>The motion passed (44 in favor, 1 not in favor).</u>

4. Motion to modify the Communication across Cultures section of the Core Curriculum.

Faculty Senator Aneilya Barnes moved to postpone this motion until the July Faculty Senate meeting. Wanda Dooley seconded. <u>The motion to postpone passed</u> (45 in favor, 1 not in favor).

- B. Faculty Senator Ellen Arnold
 - 1. Motion to include Senior Instructors in the Faculty Compensation Plan. The motion was seconded by Faculty Senator John Navin. <u>The motion passed (44 in favor, 1 not in favor).</u>
- C. Student Life Committee
 - 1. Motion to modify the 2021-2022 Code of Student Conduct. <u>The motion passed</u> (46 in favor, 0 not in favor).
- D. Academic Integrity Officer
 - 1. The Student Life Committee nominates Clayton Whitesides for the position of Academic Integrity Officer.

Faculty Senator Steven Bleicher moved to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters. Faculty Senator Frederick Wood seconded. The senators were asked to join a separate Teams channel to attend Executive Session.

Upon returning from Executive Session, it was noted no action was taken.

The senators moved to a vote to confirm Whitesides for the position of Academic Integrity Officer. <u>The motion passed (43 in favor, 1 not in favor).</u>

- E. Faculty Welfare Committee
 - 1. Motion to modify policy ACAD-114: Academic Director/Department Chair. <u>The</u> <u>motion passed (44 in favor, 2 not in favor).</u>
 - 2. Motion to modify policy ACAD-115: Program Coordinator. <u>The motion passed</u> (46 in favor, 1 not in favor).

ANNOUNCEMENTS: None

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Lydia Deeck, Faculty Senate Recorder

Approved by Brian Bunton, Faculty Senate Chair