

Faculty Senate <u>April 26, 2023</u> Meeting Minutes 4:30 p.m. Allen Ballroom www.coastal.edu/facultysenate

Note: The remarks of the senators and others are summarized and not verbatim. The recording of this meeting is available via the <i>Livestream.

PRESENT: Jonathan Acuff, Jim Arendt, Ariana Baker, Aneilya Barnes, Michelle Barthet, Edurne Beltran, Andrea Bergstrom, Steven Bleicher, Miranda Brenneman, Amanda Brian, Brian Bunton, Teresa Burns, David Carr, Thomas Castillo, Subhajit Chakraborty, Richard Costner, Crystal Cox, Rajendra Dahal, Victoria DePalma, Wanda Dooley, David Duncan, Diane Fribance, Paul Gayes, Matthew Gilbert, Justin Guilkey, Siming Guo, Jeffry Halverson, Steven Hamelman, Kyle Holody, Suzanne Horn, Emma Howes, Sheena Kauppila, Drew Kurlowski, Brian Lee, Justin Lovich, Amanda Masterpaul, Emily McGill, Kristi McIntyre, Arlise McKinney, Amber McWilliams, Leann Mischel, Susan Montenery, John Navin, Adam Pelty, Eric Resnis, Sara Rich, Erin Rickard, Jose Sanjines, Kimberly Schumacher, Kerry Schwanz, Lee Shinaberger, Kimberly Michelle Singleton, Hongxia Wang, Frederick Wood, Tally Wright

SUBSTITUTIONS: Andrew Incognito for Deepak Basyal, John Hutchens for Vladislav Gulis, Jesse Rouse for Gillian Richards-Greaves, Melanie Giraud for Yun Sil Jeon, Sourav Batabyal for Robert Killins, Michael McKenzie for Corey Lee, Tom Secrest for Andy Weinbach, Erin Burge for Lauren Stefaniak, Tim Fischer for Jesse Willis, Matthew Wilkinson for Lisa Winters

ABSENT: Kelly Elliot, James Everett,

- I. Faculty Senate Chair, Brian Bunton, called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m.
- II. Roll call was taken by Faculty Senate Secretary, Wanda Dooley.
- III. The March 29, 2023 minutes were adopted by unanimous consent.
- IV. The April 26, 2023 consent agenda was approved without any edits by unanimous consent.
- V. PRESIDENT, PROVOST, AND OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS
 - A. SGA Executive Vice President Destiny Jackson presented an update on activities in the Student Government Association.
 - B. Vice President for Enrollment Management, Amanda Craddock provided the following reports:
 - Fall 2023 preliminary enrollment report:

- Continuing undergraduate enrollment up 9.7%
- Undergraduate enrollment up 9.6%
- Total enrollment up 8.9%
- Preliminary retention report (fall 2022 to fall 2023)
 - o 78.1 %
- Fall 2023 freshman applications:
 - Applications up 7.5%
 - o Acceptances up 8.4%
 - o South Carolina acceptances up 7.6%
 - o Deposits up 3.3%
- Fall 2023 transfer applications:
 - Applications up10.8%
 - Acceptances up7.1%
 - South Carolina acceptances up17.8%
 - o Deposits up 7.2%
 - South Carolina acceptances up 25.5%
- Fall 2023 freshman application date changes:
 - Early Decision (ED): Apply by October 15; notification by December 15; enrollment required by January 15.
 - Early Action (EA): Apply by November 15; notification by December 1; enrollment required by May 1.
 - Regular Decision (RD): Apply by February 1; notification by March 1; enrollment required by May 1.
- C. Provost Daniel Ennis presented the provost report.
 - The search committee for the Interim Dean for the Spadoni College of Education and Social Sciences has provided their recommendation. A final decision will be made and announced soon.

VI. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT

- A. Faculty Senate Chair Brian Bunton gave the executive committee report:
 - Undergraduate Administrative Actions #27-30 and Graduate Administrative Action #7 were generated and approved from the March 29, 2023 meeting.
 - Statement of Correction generated based on error on AA-13_2017_2018 and changes for LIS degree.
- B. Nominations for Faculty Senate Executive Committee:

• Faculty Senate Chair

Jonathan Acuff nominated Drew Kurlowski as Faculty Senate Chair. The nomination was accepted. Steven Bleicher self-nominated for Faculty Senate Chair. Susan Montenery moved to close the nominations. Jonathan Acuff seconded, and there were no objections.

John Navin moved that the winner be announced but not the tally. There were no objections.

Drew Kurlowski was selected as the new chair of Faculty Senate by a majority vote.

• Faculty Senate Vice Chair

Drew Kurlowski nominated Diane Fribance as Vice Chair for Faculty Senate. The nomination was accepted. Drew Kurlowski moved to close the nominations. Kyle Holody seconded, and there were no objections. Diane Fribance was accepted as vice chair for Faculty Senate by consensus, with no objections.

• Faculty Senate Secretary

John Navin nominated Kyle Holody as secretary for Faculty Senate. The nomination was accepted. Drew Kurlowski nominated Jim Arendt as secretary for Faculty Senate. The nomination was accepted. Jon Acuff moved to close nominations. Steve Bleicher seconded, and there were no objections. Jim Arendt was selected as the new secretary for Faculty Senate by a majority vote.

VII. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Academic Affairs Committee and Graduate Council (moved and seconded in committee)
 - Motion: Changes to ACAD_109_ New Program Development and Modification and Changes to ACAD_125_Course Development and Modification.
 The motion passed with 50 in favor and 2 opposed.
 - 2. Motion: Changes to ACAD_124_Academic Affairs Committee. The motion passed with 59 approved.
 - 3. Motion: Changes to ACAD_126_Graduate Program and Curriculum Routing The motion passed with 56 in favor and 1 opposed.
- B. Student Life Committee (moved and seconded out of committee)
 - 1. Motion: Changes to the Code of Student Conduct The motion passed with 54 in favor and 2 opposed.

X. ANNOUNCEMENTS/GOOD OF THE ORDER

Kyle Holody thanked Brian Bunton for his service as chair of the Faculty Senate. John Navin reminded the Senate of the memorial for former President of the University, Ron Ingle.

Be sure to complete the Faculty Ombuds survey that was sent out.

XI. With no additional business, the meeting adjourned at 5:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Christina Genovevo Curriculum Management Coordinator