R. Wes Hayes, Jr.

Chairman

Rusty L. Monhollon, Ph.D. President & Executive Director



February 9, 2022

Rep. Merita A. Allison, Chair House Education and Public Works Committee South Carolina House of Representatives

Dear Chair Allison

Please find enclosed a statement in support of academic integrity and responsibility, approved by the Commission on Higher Education on February 3, 2022. I submit this statement on behalf of the CHE to the House Education and Public Works Committee for its consideration in any upcoming deliberations or discussions.

I want to make it unequivocally clear that this statement is an expression of support for a set of core principles and values and nothing more. The Commission did not intend for it to be understood as an endorsement or a repudiation of any current statute or pending legislation, nor did the Commission intend to take a position in support of or opposition to a particular theory, ideology, or issue. Rather, its sole purpose is to express support for several bedrock principles viewpoint diversity, academic integrity and responsibility for both students and faculty, intellectual honesty—that are the very foundation on which our system of higher education rests.

Thank you for the work you and the House Education Committee do on behalf of the citizens of South Carolina. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Rusty Monhollon, Ph.D.

4 Modelle

President and Executive Director













SC CHE Statement in Support of Academic Integrity and Responsibility

February 9, 2022

On February 3, 2022, the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education approved the following statement:

The Commission on Higher Education:

- values and honors viewpoint diversity.
- values and honors academic integrity and responsibility for both faculty and students.
- values and honors intellectual honesty.
- expects South Carolina's public institutions of higher education to embrace and protect these principles.

R. Wes Hayes

Chair

Rusty Monhollon, Ph.D.

President and Executive Director

The undersigned institutions endorse these statements approved by the Commission on Higher Education on February 3, 2022, and will continue their long history of supporting and defending academic freedom and integrity.

Dr. Stephen J. Cutler, Provost University of South Carolina Columbia

Dr. Michael T. Benson, President Coastal Carolina University

Dr. George W. Hynd, Interim President Winthrop University

Dr. Al Panu, Chancellor University of South Carolina Beaufort

Dr. Kevin Pollock, President Central Carolina Technical College

Dr. Marilyn Murphy Fore, President Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Dr. Patricia A. Lee, President Williamsburg Technical College Dr. David J. Cole, President Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Luther F. Carter, President Francis Marion University

Dr. Daniel J. Heimmermann, Chancellor University of South Carolina Aiken

Dr. Bennie L. Harris, Chancellor University of South Carolina Upstate

Dr. Willie L. Todd, President Denmark Technical College

Dr. Walter A. Tobin, President
Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College

Dr. Stacey Moore, President York Technical College