You are viewing an archived issue. Vol. 3 Issue 1 January 2011 Looking for the current issue?

Something to Talk About Personal notes and news.

Chaucey Something To Talk About
Bookmark and Share
  • Bowden a finalist for top model contest

    January 7 2011

    Ebony Bowden, coordinator of diversity programs in the Office of Multicultural Students, is one of four finalists in the “World’s Next Top Natural Hair Model Contest.” Taliah Waajid Natural Hair Care Products is hosting the contest to find a fresh face to be displayed on the cover of its promotional material.

    On. Feb. 4, Bowden, who was selected from more than 300 applicants, will travel to Atlanta to attend the crowning ceremony. The winner will be announced at the gala. Bowden will have a chance to win a trophy, a Bahamas trip for two, a cash prize, six-month supply of Black Earth products and an opportunity to be a spokesperson for Taliah Waajid Black Earth products for one year.

    Ebony, who has worked at CCU for more than two years, learned about the competition through co-worker Seleah Crosland, counselor in University’s Office of Counseling Services last October.

    “Friends, family and co-workers are always complimenting me on the versatility and creativity of my natural hair styles, so I thought I would give it a shot,” says Bowden.

  • Health promotion professor presents

    December 31 2010

    Sharon Thompson, professor of health promotion, presented a paper at the American Dietetic Association’s 2010 Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo in Boston, Mass., on Nov. 7. The presentation "What are we feeding our prisoners?" provided an analysis of meals served in South Carolina prisons and compared them to Dietary Reference recommended intakes for adults.

  • Psi Chi inducts 19 new members

    December 17 2010

    Psi Chi, the national psychology honor society, had its fall induction ceremony on Nov. 11. Robert Johnson, class of '98, and winner of the College of Science Alumni of the Year Award this year, was the guest presenter.

    The following 19 students were inducted: Noah Barnett, Olivia Born, Anjilla Courser, Amanda Curl, Alex Gilbert, Jennifer Gracia, Raymond Jones, Jennifer Kaiser, Dea Kamberaj, Lace Lentini, Kelsey Long, Nathaniel Maloney, Kayla Martin, Arsida Ndoni, Kaitlin O'Toole, Ellen Purtell, Arthur G. Shoemaker, Chelsey Thompson and Kaitlyn Zuilkowski. 

    Terry Pettijohn and Megan McIlreavy are advisers to the group.