You are viewing an archived issue. Vol. 3 Issue 4 April 2011 Looking for the current issue?

On Your CalendarSave the date.

Chaucey On Your Calendar

Safe Zone training Bookmark and Share

Apr 26

6 to 8 p.m. @ CSCC 200
FREE

The Safe Zone Program provides a visible network of volunteers for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and other individuals seeking information and assistance regarding sexual orientation, gender identity, harassment, and/or discrimination. Safe Zone Allies will participate in a two-hour training session and will commit to the Safe Zone program mission. Once training and commitment are completed, Safe Zone Allies will be identified by a Coastal Carolina University Safe Zone logo placed on each ally’s door and/or backpack.

For more information, consult the Safe Zone website at www.coastal.edu/safezone

Safe Zone training:

Any student, faculty, or staff member who wants to become a Safe Zone Ally or would just like to learn more about LGBTQ issues should attend.
Tuesday, April 26, 6 to 8 p.m., CSCC 200
Call 843-349-2305 to register. Sessions will be limited to 25 participants.
Call any of the Safe Zone Planning Team Members: 
Team leader: Jennie Cassidy, Director, Counseling Services, 843-349-2305, jcassidy@coastal.edu

Team members: Laura Arroyo, area director, Office of Residence Life, 843-349-6407, larroyo@coastal.edu; Regina Curran, coordinator, Student Conduct and Off Campus Student Services, 843-349-4161, rcurran@coastal.edu; Tyger Glauser, coordinator of Student Programs, Office of Student Activities and Leadership,   843-349-4165, tyger@coastal.edu; Robert B. Jenkot, Faculty Department of Sociology, 843-349-2274, rjenkot@coastal.edu; Barbara Ritter, Faculty, College of Business, 843-349-4175, britter@coastal.edu; Patricia Singleton-Young, Director, Multicultural Student Services/Freshman Transition Programs, 843-349-2304, psyoung@coastal.edu.

Contact Call 843-349-2305 to register for additional information