In This Section

Spring Orientation Academic Advisers

Once you have registered for Orientation, you may contact your academic adviser to get assistance in creating your class schedule. Once your courses have been determined, you should ask your academic adviser to contact the Office of New Student and Family Programs at 843-349-2027 to have the Orientation hold lifted. Failure to attend Orientation will result in your class schedule being dropped.

Some of your courses may not seamlessly transfer into the Core Curriculum at Coastal. You may wish to set up an appointment with the director of Core Curriculum during transfer orientation to review your Coastal program evaluation form and transfer equivalency report to identify courses that can be petitioned into the Core.

Contact the director of the Core Curriculum (margaret@coastal.edu) or check out the Core Curriculum for Transfer Students website.

To determine your academic adviser and find their contact information, see the list below by major.

MAJOR NAME EMAIL TELEPHONE
Accounting Kayla Johnson kayla@coastal.edu 843-349-2427
Anthropology and Geography Kenneth Lewis kelewis1@coastal.edu 843-349-2858
Art History Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Biochemistry David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-2209
Biology John Hutchens jjhutche@coastal.edu 843-349-6483
Chemistry David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-2209
Communication Tasha Newcomb tasha@coastal.edu 843-349-2035
Computer Science William Jones wjones@coastal.edu 843-349-4142
Digital Culture and Design Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Early Childhood Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Economics Amanda Speiser aspeiser@coastal.edu 843-349-2986
Elementary Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Engineering Science Brian Bunton bbunton@coastal.edu 843-349-2066
English Kenneth Lewis kelewis1@coastal.edu 843-349-2858
Exercise and Sport Science Greg Martel gmartel@coastal.edu 843-349-2957
Finance Amanda Speiser aspeiser@coastal.edu 843-349-2986
Graphic Design Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2498
Health Administration John Yannessa yannessa@coastal.edu 843-349-6460
History Anne Berler aberler@coastal.edu 843-349-4080
Hospitality, Resort, and Tourism Management Kate Byron kbyron@coastal.edu 843-349-6529
Information Systems Jean French jennis@coastal.edu 843-349-3430
Information Technology Jean French jennis@coastal.edu 843-349-3430
Intelligence and National Security Studies Alan Reynolds areynolds@coastal.edu 843-349-2730
Interdisciplinary Studies Agatha O'Brien-Gayes aobrieng@coastal.edu 843-349-2720
Languages and Intercultural Studies Kenneth Lewis kelewis1@coastal.edu 843-349-2858
Management Penny Bell pbell@coastal.edu 843-349-2691
Marine Science Jane Guentzel jguentze@coastal.edu 843-349-2374
Marketing Kate Byron kbyron@coastal.edu 843-349-6529
Mathematics Tom Hoffman thoffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2249
Middle Level Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Music Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2561
Musical Theatre Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Philosophy Alan Reynolds areynolds@coastal.edu 843-349-2730
Physical Education/Teacher Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Physics Brian Bunton bbunton@coastal.edu 843-349-2066
Political Science Alan Reynolds areynolds@coastal.edu 843-349-2730
Psychology Terri Pettijohn tpettijo@coastal.edu 843-349-6447
Public Health John Yannessa yannessa@coastal.edu 843-349-6460
Recreation and Sport Management Colleen McGlone cmcglone@coastal.edu 843-349-2989
Sociology Bob Jenkot rjenkot@coastal.edu 843-349-2274
Special Education - Learning Disabilities Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Statistics Tom Hoffman thoffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2249
Theatre Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Theatre Arts Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Undeclared Agatha O'Brien-Gayes
Michele Varga
aobrieng@coastal.edu
mvarga@coastal.edu
843-349-2720
843-349-6528
Undeclared Business Penny Bell
Kate Byron
pbell@coastal.edu
kbyron@coastal.edu
843-349-2691
843-349-6529
Undeclared Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Undeclared Humanities Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Undeclared Science Teresa Keith tkeith@coastal.edu 843-349-6534