In This Section

Academic Advisors

Once you (a transfer student with over 24 earned credit hours, post-high school graduation) have registered for Orientation, you may contact your academic advisor to get assistance in creating your class schedule. Once your courses have been determined, you should ask your academic advisor to contact the Office of New Student and Family Programs at 843-349-2027 to have the Orientation hold lifted. Failure to attend Orientation will result in your class schedule being dropped.

Some of your courses may not seamlessly transfer into the Core Curriculum at Coastal. You may wish to set up an appointment with the director of Core Curriculum during transfer orientation to review your Coastal program evaluation form and transfer equivalency report to identify courses that can be petitioned into the Core.

Contact the director of the Core Curriculum (margaret@coastal.edu) or check out the Core Curriculum for Transfer Students website.

To determine your academic advisor and find their contact information, see the list below.

MAJOR NAME EMAIL TELEPHONE
Accounting Kayla Johnson kayla@coastal.edu 843-349-2427
Anthropology and Geography Carolyn Dillian cdillian@coastal.edu 843-349-2777
Art History Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Biochemistry David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-2209
Biology Mike Pierce mpierce@coastal.edu 843-349-6483
Chemistry David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-2209
Communication Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2498
Computer Science William Jones wjones@coastal.edu 843-349-4142
Digital Culture and Design Jennifer Boyle jboyle@coastal.edu 843-349-6654
Early Childhood Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Economics Kayla Johnson kayla@coastal.edu 843-349-2427
Elementary Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Engineering Science David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-2209
English Kenneth Lewis kelewis1@coastal.edu 843-349-2858
Exercise and Sport Science Greg Martel gmartel@coastal.edu 843-349-2957
Finance Kayla Johnson kayla@coastal.edu 843-349-2427
Graphic Design Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2498
Health Administration John Yannessa yannessa@coastal.edu 843-349-6460
History Amanda Brian abrian@coastal.edu 843-349-6653
Hospitality, Resort, and Tourism Management Kate Byron kbyron@coastal.edu 843-349-6529
Information Systems William Jones wjones@coastal.edu Email only
Information Technology William Jones wjones@coastal.edu Email Only
Intelligence and National Security Studies Alan Reynolds areynolds@coastal.edu 843-349-2730
Interdisciplinary Studies Matthew Wood mwood@coastal.edu 843-349-5089
Management Penny Bell pbell@coastal.edu 843-349-2691
Marine Science Jane Guentzel jguentze@coastal.edu 843-349-2374
Marketing Abbey Kruse akruse@coastal.edu 843-349-4170
Mathematics Jim Solazzo jsolazzo@coastal.edu 843-349-2717
Middle Level Education Denise Davis ddavis@coastal.edu 843-349-2935
Music Philip Powell ppowell@coastal.edu 843-349-2515
Musical Theatre Robin Edwards-Russell rrussell@coastal.edu 843-349-2505
Philosophy Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2498
Physical Education/Teacher Education Denise Davis ddavis@coastal.edu 843-349-2935
Physics David Evans devans@coastal.edu 843-349-4015
Political Science Alan Reynolds areynolds@coastal.edu 843-349-2730
Psychology Terri Pettijohn tpettijo@coastal.edu 843-349-6447
Public Health John Yannessa yannessa@coastal.edu 843-349-6460
Recreation and Sport Management Colleen McGlone cmcglone@coastal.edu 843-349-2989
Sociology Bob Jenkot rjenkot@coastal.edu 843-349-2274
Spanish Valerie Tisdale vctisdal@coastal.edu 843-349-6687
Special Education - Learning Disabilities Denise Davis ddavis@coastal.edu 843-349-2935
Theatre Heather Huffman hhuffman@coastal.edu 843-349-2941
Theatre Arts Robin Edwards-Russell rrussell@coastal.edu 843-349-2505
Undeclared Agatha O'Brien-Gayes
Michele Varga
aobrieng@coastal.edu
mvarga@coastal.edu
843-349-2720
843-349-6528
Undeclared Business Penny Bell pbell@coastal.edu 843-349-2691
Undeclared Education Karen Cafaro kscafaro@coastal.edu 843-349-6537
Undeclared Humanities Frankie Weeks fmweeks@coastal.edu 843-349-2498
Undeclared Science Marcella Greene marcella@coastal.edu 843-349-6534