facebook icon twitter youtube

University Leadership

Coastal Carolina University employs a leadership and management structure headed by the University President and his executive staff. Each core division of the University is led by a vice president with the exception of academic affairs, which falls under the direction of the Provost – Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs.

The University administration is directed and guided by a 17-person Board of Trustees elected by the South Carolina State General Assembly with the exception of two seats appointed by the Governor of South Carolina.

The University administration formally meets with the Board of Trustees on a quarterly basis with additional meetings as needed to discuss special circumstances.

Executive Staff

The President's Executive Staff serves in an advisory role to President DeCenzo. Generally, the Executive Staff meets every two weeks to discuss University progress and projects. The Executive Staff is a non-voting group of senior-level administrators of the University.

Edgar L. "Eddie" Dyer (chairman)
Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer
843-349-2628
dyer@coastal.edu

J. Ralph Byington
Provost – Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
843-349-2089
byington@coastal.edu

Stacie A. Bowie
Vice President for Finance and Administration
843-349-2227
sbowie@coastal.edu

Deborah K. Conner
Vice President of Student Affairs
843-349-2300
dconner@coastal.edu

Abdallah Haddad
CIO/Assistant Vice President for Information Technology Services
843-349-2938
abdallah@coastal.edu

Matthew L. Hogue
Interim Director of Athletics
843-349-2809
dhogue@coastal.edu

Timothy E. Meacham
University Counsel
843-349-2876
tmeacham@coastal.edu

William M. Plate Jr.
Associate Vice President for University Communication
843-349-4066
billplate@coastal.edu

Mark A. Roach
Vice President for Philanthropy
843-349-2964
mroach@coastal.edu

Michael H. Roberts
Vice President for Research and Emerging Initiatives
Dean, College of Science
843-349-2822
mroberts@coastal.edu

Gregory W. Thornburg
Vice President for Enrollment Services
843-349-2037
gthornbu@coastal.edu