Workshops - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Writing Center Workshops

The online workshops in the table below will be available multiple times to all students during the first half of the Spring 2021 semester. Five workshops are scheduled for each week, including a Saturday morning workshop for students who are unable to attend any of the weekday workshops. In an attempt to help students succeed in their first-year composition courses, six of the workshop topics are connected to specific concepts in ENGL 101/102 badges. However, any student on campus might benefit from the material covered in these workshops. A schedule of workshops for the second half of the semester will be available before March 1 on this page.

Please ask students to e-mail the following information to Writing Center at writingcenter@coastal.edu to reserve their spots in a workshop (max. 25 students per workshop):

  • Name (first and last)
  • Course number (ENGL 101, ENGL 102, etc.)
  • Instructor’s name

Each student will receive a confirmation e-mail with information on how to attend the workshop. Workshops will be held on Zoom. The workshop leader will take attendance and report to the instructor. Each workshop will also include a follow-up writing exercise that instructors may require students to complete and submit as proof of attendance and participation.

PLEASE NOTE: While some of the topics below were covered in Fall 2020 workshops, the content, examples, and exercises will be all new for Spring 2021.

 

February Workshops

DateTimeTopicRelated Badges
Monday, Feb 1 8:00 am  Putting It All Together  Synthesizing I/II and
Shaping a Thesis 
Tuesday, Feb. 2  3:00 pm  Analyzing, Responding, and Evaluating  Analyzing, Critiquing, and
Reading Actively  
Thursday, Feb. 4   8:00 am  Making Transitions and Connections   
Friday, Feb. 5  3:00 pm  Writing Effective Summaries  Summarizing 
Saturday, Feb. 6 10:30 am Organizing and Developing Paragraphs Paragraphing I/II
Monday, Feb 8 8:00 am  Organizing and Developing Paragraphs Paragraphing I/II
Tuesday, Feb. 9 3:00 pm  Using Material from Sources  Quoting and Paraphrasing
Thursday, Feb. 11  8:00 am  Considering the Audience Shifting Styles I/II, Wordsmithing,
and Imagining Readers 
Friday, Feb. 12 3:00 pm  Putting It All Together Synthesizing I/II and
Shaping a Thesis 
Saturday, Feb. 13 10:30 am Using Material from Sources Quoting and Paraphrasing
Monday, Feb 15 8:00 am  Analyzing, Responding, and Evaluating Analyzing, Critiquing, and
Reading Actively
Tuesday, Feb. 16 3:00 pm  Making Transitions and Connections  
Thursday, Feb. 18  8:00 am  Writing Effective Summaries Summarizing  
Friday, Feb. 19 3:00 pm  Organizing and Developing Paragraphs Paragraphing I/II
Saturday, Feb. 20 10:30 am Considering the Audience Shifting Styles I/II, Wordsmithing,
and Imagining Readers
Monday, Feb 22 8:00 am  Using Material from Sources Quoting and Paraphrasing
Tuesday, Feb. 23 3:00 pm  Considering the Audience Shifting Styles I/II, Wordsmithing,
and Imagining Readers
Thursday, Feb. 25  8:00 am  Putting It All Together Synthesizing I/II and
Shaping a Thesis  
Friday, Feb. 26 3:00 pm  Analyzing, Responding, and Evaluating Analyzing, Critiquing, and
Reading Actively
Saturday, Feb. 27 10:30 am Putting It All Together Synthesizing I/II and
Shaping a Thesis  

 

For a full list of Spring 2021 workshops, view Writing Center Spring 2021 Workshops