Link to CCU Home Page
Link to Quick Links
Link to Search Link to CCU Home Page
News Releases -> newsarticles
spacer image
February 14, 2016   
Posted: July 17, 2009
Board of Trustees name officers

Coastal Carolina University's board of trustees elected officers today at its quarterly board meeting. The board re-elected William H. Alford as chairman and Samuel J. Swad as vice chairman for the 2009-2010 term. Samuel H. Frink was elected to the secretary/treasurer position.

The board approved tenure for Cheryl Ward, who will join the faculty Aug. 1 as marine archeologist in the Thomas W. and Robin W. College of Humanities and Fine Arts. The title Distinguished Professor Emeritus was conferred on four faculty members: Gilbert H. Hunt, Linda P. Hollandsworth, Peter C. Lecouras and Donald Millus (posthumously).

The board approved a motion to support the concept of a sophomore housing requirement, which would make on-campus residence compulsory for second-year, non-local students. The measure is being considered as a means to increase retention and improve student performance. Prior to implementation, University administration must ensure that adequate housing units are available to accommodate both a freshman and a sophomore housing requirement. The University established a freshman housing requirement in 2008.

The board also approved a motion to renew the annual lease for Charles L. Watson Baseball Stadium, the campus baseball facility, from the Coastal Educational Foundation for a nominal fee.

Search Options:
Select Specific Year(s):
2014 2006
2013 2005
2012 2004
2011 2003
2010 2002
2009 2001
2008 2000
View ALL Archived News
Link to CCU Home Page
University Policies | Site Policies | Contact Us
© 2016 Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 | +1 843-347-3161