Link to CCU Home Page
Link to Quick Links
Link to Search Link to CCU Home Page
News Releases -> newsarticles
spacer image
February 9, 2016   
Posted: October 25, 2010
CCU wins best delegation at student legislature

Coastal Carolina University's student delegation has been recognized as the Best Large Delegation at the 2010 session of the South Carolina Student Legislature (SCSL). CCU's delegation has won this honor for three consecutive years, beating delegations from Clemson, College of Charleston, the Citadel and the University of South Carolina.

The 16 political science students who participated include: Taylor Eubanks, delegation chair; Kelsey Dye, delegation vice-chair; Tyler Greatorex, SCSL lieutenant governor; Africa Brown, Jennifer Burch, Ian Christie, Derek Gillam, Craig Healy, Christina Jackson, Carmen Ketron, Casey McKee, Brandon Reilly, Chris Stephens, Caitlin Spahr, George Taylor and Desmond Wallace.

"We are so proud of these students," said Holley Tankersley, political science professor and co-adviser of SCSL. "Our students consistently write the most well-reasoned, legitimate legislation at SCSL."

The SCSL is a student-run mock legislature sponsored by the S.C. General Assembly. Colleges and universities in South Carolina send delegations to two annual sessions to debate bills and further their knowledge about parliamentary procedures and state government.

Search Options:
Select Specific Year(s):
2014 2006
2013 2005
2012 2004
2011 2003
2010 2002
2009 2001
2008 2000
View ALL Archived News
Link to CCU Home Page
University Policies | Site Policies | Contact Us
© 2016 Coastal Carolina University | P.O. Box 261954, Conway, SC 29528-6054 | +1 843-347-3161