In This Section

Faculty and Staff

Front Office

Brandon Palmer
Chair/Professor | Modern East Asia; Military History; Korean-Americans
Brittain Hall 380 | 843-349-2472 | bpalmer@coastal.edu

Stephanie Freeman
Administrative Specialist
Brittain Hall 378 | 843-349-2476 | freeman@coastal.edu

Anne Berler
Academic Advisor/Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 341 | 843-349-4080 | aberler@coastal.edu

Faculty

Aneilya Barnes
Associate Professor Late Antiquity; Roman Empire; Early Christianity; Women in the Early Church; Early Christian Architecture; Medieval Middle East
Brittain Hall 367 | 843-349-2525 | abarnes@coastal.edu

Merrill Boyce
Chief Executive in Residence and Global Business Coordinator
Wall 228A | 843-349-7629 | mboyce@coastal.edu

Christopher Boyle
Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 378 | ccboyle@coastal.edu

Amanda M. Brian
Associate Professor/Director of MALS | 19th-Century Europe; Modern Germany; Children/Childhood; Visual Culture; European Colonialism & Imperialism
Brittain Hall 364 | 843-349-6653 | abrian@coastal.edu

Thomas Castillo
Assistant Professor | U.S. History; Labor, Social, Culture
Brittain Hall 374 | tcastillo@coastal.edu

M. Katie Clary
Visiting Assistant Professor
Brittain Hall 372 | 843-349-2564 | mclary@coastal.edu

Angela Dembiczak
Teaching Associate/Coordinator ~ South Carolina History Day
Brittain Hall 369 | 843-349-2913 | ajdembic@coastal.edu

F. Eliza Glaze
Professor | Early and High Medieval Europe; Ancient & Medieval Health, Medicine, and Disease; Medieval Mediterranean; Byzantine Empire; Norman Italy, Sicily, and Ifriqiya
Brittain Hall 371 | 843-234-3462 | fglaze@coastal.edu

Rod O. Gragg
Teaching Associate/Director ~ Center for Military and Veterans Studies
Coastal Science Center 110 | 843-243-3431 | rgragg@coastal.edu

Christopher Gunn
Assistant Professor | Modern Middle East; Eastern Mediterranean; Ottoman Empire
Brittain Hall 362 | 843-349-6461 | cgunn@coastal.edu

Matt Hassett
Teaching Associate
Kimbel Library 217 | mhassett@coastal.edu

Richard Hourigan
Teaching Associate
Kimbel Library 217 | rhouriga@coastal.edu

Lawrence Kent
Senior Instructor
Brittain Hall 370 | 843-349-2499 | lkent@coastal.edu

Kevin Kokomoor
Teaching Associate
Kimbel Library 217 | kkokomoor@coastal.edu

Matthew McDonough
Lecturer
mmcdonoug@coastal.edu

Maggi Morehouse
Professor/Burroughs Distinguished Professor ~ Southern History & Cultures | Southern; African American; Diaspora & Migration
Brittain Hall 373 | 843-349-6552 | morehouse@coastal.edu

Brian Nance
Professor
Brittain Hall 359 | 843-349-2461 | brian@coastal.edu

John Navin
Professor
Brittain Hall 363 | 843-349-2437 | jnavin@coastal.edu

Robert Oliver
Senior Instructor
Brittain Hall 361 | 843-349-2486 | roliver@coastal.edu

Shari Orisich
Assistant Professor Latin America; Sciences of Crime & Youth; Political Violence; Visual Culture; Memory; Class and Gender/Sexuality
Brittain Hall 366 | 843-349-6669 | sorisich@coastal.edu

Christopher Powers
Teaching Associate
843-349-2661 | cpowers@coastal.edu

Jack Roper
Teaching Associate
Brittain Hall 379 | 276-614-5345 | jroper@coastal.edu

Renee Searfoss
Teaching Associate
Kimbel Library 217 | rsearfoss@coastal.edu

Roy Talbert
Professor
Brittain Hall 369 | 843-349-2622 | talbert@coastal.edu

Philip Whalen
Professor
Brittain Hall 368 | 843-349-2350 | pwhalen@coastal.edu

Emeritus Faculty

James J. Farsolas
Professor Emeritus ~ History
farsolas@coastal.edu

Eldred E. Prince Jr.
Professor Emeritus ~ History
Brittain Hall 377 | 843-349-2434 | prince@coastal.edu

Kenneth Townsend
Professor Emeritus ~ History
ken@coastal.edu