news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

2014 Ronald D. Lackey service award to be named

April 17, 2014

The 2014 Ronald D. Lackey service award will be presented at Coastal Carolina University's Student Involvement and Leadership Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, April 23, in Wheelwright Auditorium at 7 p.m. 

The following students have been nominated for the prestigious award: Katelyn P. Dawsey, a communication major from Shavertown, Pa.; Valerie M. Hamrick, a biology major from Gaffney; Meghan V. Laffin, a management major from Holbrook, N.Y.; Kaitlin T. Page, a political science major from Galivants Ferry; Jessica L. Paternoster, a special education major from Manahawkin, N.J.; and Constance C. Wright, a middle level education major from Columbia.

The Ronald D. Lackey Service Award was established in 1991 in honor of the late Ronald Lackey for his dedication to campus and community service. The award is presented annually to a CCU senior who serves the University community with conspicuous service through involvement and leadership in campus and community activities. 

One of the most prestigious awards on campus, undergraduate students are nominated by their peers or by faculty or staff members to be considered. 

To qualify, students must have the following: a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above; graduate in May, August or December 2014; significant involvement in campus organizations; significant leadership and service that has benefited the campus and contributed to the quality of campus life.

Wheelwright Auditorium is located at 108 Spadoni Park Circle on the CCU campus in Conway.