Aerial of Campus with Prince and Edwards buildings in view, showing Prince Lawn

University Leadership

Board of Trustees

The Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees is by state statute responsible for overseeing the effective governance of the University. The 17-person Board of Trustees is elected by the South Carolina State General Assembly with the exception of two seats appointed by the governor of South Carolina. The University administration formally meets with the Board of Trustees on a quarterly basis with additional meetings as needed to discuss special circumstances.

University Leadership

Coastal Carolina University employs a leadership and management structure headed by University President Michael Benson. Each core division of the University is led by a vice president reporting to the University president or by a vice president or a dean reporting to the executive vice president for academic affairs and provost.

President's Cabinet

The President's Cabinet is a non-voting group of senior-level administrators of the University that serves in an executive level support role to the president. Each core division of the University is led by a senior-level administrator reporting to the president or by a dean reporting to the executive vice president for academic affairs and provost.

Executive Council

The Executive Council is a group of functional administrators, chaired by the chief of staff, representing all areas of Coastal Carolina University. These individuals serve in an advisory capacity, and meet bi-monthly. The mission of this body is to regularly review the operations of the University and advise the President’s Cabinet on matters affecting the University at large. The Executive Council also updates and recommends policy to the Board of Trustees that filter up through various departments throughout the University.

Faculty Senate

Faculty participation in the shared governance of the University is organized through the Faculty Senate, the representative body of the University faculty with legislative authority all matters pertaining to the educational interests and matters that concern the faculty, including standards of admission, orientation policy, requirements for academic degrees and graduation, curriculum and instruction, student discipline, educational policies and standards, research, promotion and tenure, faculty recruitment, and academic calendars. Proposals resulting from the exercise of this authority are subject to the review and approval of the University president and Board of Trustees.

Staff Senate

The Staff Senate serves to facilitate an active and participatory line of communication and engagement among the University staff, and to provide a forum through which staff can raise, discuss, and make direct recommendations to the University president and the administration in support of the University’s mission. Staff Senate members are elected by the University staff.

External Boards

In addition, a number of external Boards support the University mission in various ways. Among them are the Horry County Higher Education Commission, the Coastal Educational Foundation, the Chanticleer Athletic Foundation and the Coastal Carolina University Alumni Association. Boards of visitors also support the E. Craig Wall Sr. College of Business Administration, the Spadoni College of Education, the Thomas W. and Robin W. Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts, the College of Science, and the HTC Honors College.