In This Section

Faculty Senate at CCU

Faculty participation in the shared governance of Coastal Carolina University is organized through the Faculty Senate, the representative body of the University faculty with legislative authority all matters pertaining to the educational interests and matters that concern the faculty, including standards of admission, orientation policy, requirements for academic degrees and graduation, curriculum and instruction, student discipline, educational policies and standards, research, promotion and tenure, faculty recruitment, and academic calendars. Proposals resulting from the exercise of this authority are subject to the review and approval of the University President and Board of Trustees.

Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate

Renée Smith
Professor, Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies

Vice Chair
Matthew Wilkinson, associate professor in the Department of Sociology

Kyle Holody, associate professor in the Department of Communication, Media and Culture


Allison Faix, associate librarian/coordinator of reference services for Library Services

Lydia Deeck, manager of academic records administration in the Office of the Provost