Graduate Council - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

The Graduate Council considers any academic matters related to graduate education at Coastal Carolina University.

Specific areas of consideration for the Graduate Council include new degree program proposals and new graduate courses; changes in degree programs or courses; new and existing policies, procedures, and assessment related to graduate study. Actions taken by the council related to these matters are forwarded to the Faculty Senate for consideration.

Graduate Council Membership

The Graduate Council comprises eight elected faculty members (two elected from each college) with voting powers. The elected members serve for three-year terms. Non-voting members of the Graduate Council include one representative from Kimbel Library and one from Faculty Senate, and graduate program coordinators/directors. The dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Research (who serves as chair of the council) and the registrar both serve as ex officio members. 

2020-2021 Graduate Council Meetings

All meetings are held on Wednesdays from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in Edwards (EHFA) 164 During COVID, meetings are virtual on Zoom

Sept. 2 | Submission deadline Aug. 19
Oct. 7
 | Submission deadline Sept. 23
Nov. 4 | Submission deadline Oct. 21
Dec. 2 
| Submission deadline Nov. 18 - Canceled
Jan. 13 | Submission deadline Dec. 23 - Canceled
Feb. 3
 | Submission deadline Jan. 20
March 3 | Submission deadline Feb. 17
April 7
 | Submission deadline March 17 -Due to COVID, meeting date changed to April 14th and submission date is March 24th.
May 5 | Submission deadline April 21

Graduate Council Roster
Wall College of Business Administration

Olajumoke Awe (term begins 2018-2019)
Sourav Batabyal (term begins 2020-2023)

Spadoni College of Education

Austin Hitt (term begins 2019-2020)
Richard Costner (term begins 2018-2019)

Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts

Joe Oestreich (term begins 2019-2020)
Emma Howes  (term begins 2020-2023)

Gupta College of Science

Erin Hackett (term begins 2018-2019)
Scott L. Parker (term begins 2019-2020)

HTC Honors College and Center for Interdisciplinary Studies

Jennifer Mokos (term begins 2020-2022)

Facuty Senate Representative

Justin Lovich (term begins 2020-2021)

Kimbel Library Representative

Eric Resnis (term begins 2019-2020)

Graduate Program Coordinators/Directors

Not assigned

Ex officio

Stacy Wyeth, Interim Registrar
Robert Young, Interim Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Research (chair)