Board of Trustees

University Seal TrademarkThe South Carolina General Assembly passed legislation establishing Coastal Carolina University as an independent, public institution, effective July 1, 1993.

The legislation established the governing body of Coastal Carolina University, the Board of Trustees, which by statute is responsible for overseeing the effective governance of the University. The Board of Trustees defines the mission, role and scope of the University, establishes the general policies of the University, approves the budget, and provides accountability to the public and the General Assembly.

The Board of Trustees for Coastal Carolina University is composed of the Governor of the State or his designee, who is an ex officio member of the Board, and sixteen (16) members, with fifteen (15) of those members to be elected by the General Assembly and one (1) member to be appointed from the State at large by the Governor.

The University's first Board of Trustees met on July 1, 1993.

Board of Trustees Bylaws