HCHEC - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Horry County Higher Education Commission

The Horry County Higher Education Commission (HCHEC) was formed in 1959 by the South Carolina General Assembly to oversee the use of county tax millage for Coastal Carolina. Today, there are 16 members of the commission who are appointed by the Governor of South Carolina and recommended by the Horry County Legislative Delegation to represent Horry County.


The HCHEC offers numerous scholarship opportunities to Horry County high school graduates who choose to attend Coastal Carolina University. Most of the scholarships are application-based, and selection criteria include the review of one or more of the following: high school/collegiate scholastic performance, talent in the visual and performing arts, and/or academic progress at Coastal Carolina University. The application for these scholarships is part of CCU’s online Scholarship application. For more information, please visit HCHEC Scholarships.