news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

CCU board of trustees holds tuition, and room and board fees

May 6, 2021

During the Coastal Carolina University board of trustees meeting on May 6, the board reconfirmed that tuition, and room and board costs will not increase for the 2021-2022 academic year. Tuition is $5,820 per semester for in-state students and $13,697 per semester for out-of-state students, which are below the state averages for students attending four-year public institutions. Housing fees have remained stable at CCU since a refinance plan was initiated in 2014, and a $75 per semester housing credit implemented during the 2017-2018 academic year will continue for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The board also approved a student health and wellness fee of $50 per semester. This fall, students will have access to TimelyMD, an all-in-one telehealth provider that specializes in improving the well-being of college students by making virtual medical and mental health care accessible anytime, anywhere. CCU will be the first public university in South Carolina to offer this level of comprehensive support to its students. The University’s Counseling Services and Student Health Services will now have a 24/7 presence to meet students’ needs on-demand. The service can be used anywhere in the U.S., which will allow students to access services if taking courses remotely, while on semester break, and/or while away from campus on University-related travel.

A motion was approved by the board to allow the administration to establish a COVID-19 vaccination incentive program designed to encourage students to get vaccinated. Up to $300,000 has been committed to the program, which will be supported by the University’s allotted CARES Act funds.

An increase in the student transportation fee from $50 to $125 per semester was approved by the board. The new fee, which includes a parking pass, was established through consultation with and support from the Student Government Association. The fee will allow for improvements to pedestrian and parking lot safety, the implementation of technology to improve parking efficiency and enforcement, and new transportation services.

Provost Daniel Ennis shared with the board that the HTC Honors College and Center for Interdisciplinary Studies will be renamed the HTC Honors College, effective June 1.

In other action, the board established the Trustees’ Student Persistence Award, which will be provided to any South Carolina resident freshman who completes their first year at CCU in good academic standing and has unmet financial need entering into their sophomore year. The $2,500 award will be split equally between the fall and spring semesters. The Trustees’ Student Persistence Award will eventually replace the Trustee Award, which is given postgraduation to students who complete what would normally be a four-year degree in just three years.

The board also approved a motion to request a land transfer from the Coastal Educational Foundation to the University that will facilitate planning for a new indoor football practice facility, which will be located just south of Brooks Stadium. The projected cost of the approved capital project is $15 million, which will be funded by private donations secured by the Chanticleer Athletic Foundation.

With the University’s current strategic plan ending in 2021, the board approved authorization for President Michael T. Benson to initiate a new strategic planning process and sign an agreement with a strategic planning consultant. The board also approved to begin the process of Refunding Higher Education Bonds, which will save the University approximately $5.9 million; a $350,000 discretionary fund for President Benson for the 2021-2022 academic year; and the renewal of four, one-year lease agreements.

During the meeting, the board announced the election of its new officers: H. Delan Stevens, chair; Natasha M. Hanna, vice chair; and Patrick S. Sparks, secretary/treasurer.

The other current board members are: John H. Bartell Jr., Lee A. Belcher, William S. Biggs, Lisa Davis, Dalton B. Floyd Jr., D. Wyatt Henderson, Sherry I. Johnson, Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., George E. Mullen, Jason M. Repak, Oran P. Smith, Eugene C. Spivey, Samuel J. Swad, and William E. Turner III.

Trustees D. Wyatt Henderson, Daniel W.R. Moore Sr., and Samuel J. Swad will rotate off the board on June 30, 2021.