news-article - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

CCU recognizes 2023-2024 Student Involvement and Leadership Awards winners

April 25, 2024
Rachel Jeric was presented the Ronald D. Lackey Service Award.

Coastal Carolina University held its annual Student Involvement and Leadership Awards (SILA) ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, at 6 p.m. in the Singleton Building, Allen Ballroom. During this year’s ceremony, outstanding students, faculty, and staff, as well as groups, were recognized and received a plaque, certificate, or a coveted Chanticleer rooster trophy.

Rachel Jeric, an interdisciplinary studies major from Conway, S.C., was presented the Ronald D. Lackey Service Award, given annually to a CCU senior who serves the University community with conspicuous service through involvement and leadership in campus and community activities. While at CCU, Jeric has been involved in Coastal Student Success Center and Advising and Strategic Planning, served as president for Doctors of Coastal Pre-Medical Club, Orientation Transition and Family Program Office, Honors Student Council, Bench to Bedside, and the Teal and Bronze Society. Jeric was also a member of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, and the National Society of Leadership and Success.

This year’s SILA award winners are as follows:

• Bell Tower Program of the Year – Colleges Against Cancer
• Civic Engagement Leader – Peyton Kinavey
• Collaboration Award – WE RISE
• Community Service Excellence Award – Social Justice Club
• Debbie Hardee Heart and Soul Award – Bianca Martin
• Diversity and Inclusion Champion – Social Justice Club
• Emerging Leader Award – Sharicontay Davis
• Environmental Sustainability Award – Jo Whitney
• Fraternity and Sorority Life Chapter of the Year – Nu Phi chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc.
• Fraternity and Sorority Life Chapter President of the Year – Eliza Sampson
• Fraternity and Sorority Life Greek Man of the Year – Caleb Griffin
• Fraternity and Sorority Life Greek Woman of the Year – Abbie Sawyer
• Fraternity and Sorority Life Rising Leader of the Year – Alex Knight
• Fraternity and Sorority Outstanding Community Service – Mu Rho chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc.
• Fraternity and Sorority Outstanding Philanthropy – Chi Omega
• Haven Hart Impact Award – Emily Lockwood
• Inclusive Leadership Award – Kaci Dozier
• Leadership in Athletics Award – Lanna Queiroz
• Most Improved Organization of the Year – Surf Club
• Outstanding New Organization – Horticulture Club
• Resilient Leader Award – Madison Sharrock
• Ronald D. Lackey Service Award – Rachel Jeric
• S.N.A.P. Mentoring Program S.H.I.N.E Award – Sharicontay Davis
• Spirit and Pride Award – Coastal Activities Board
• Student Leader of the Year – Lainy Powell
• Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Scott Parker, Ph.D.
• Student Organization of the Year – The Pre-Vet Club
• Teal Trailblazer of the Year – Marshal Fender
• University Housing: First-Year Resident Adviser of the Year – Preston Sloop
• University Housing: Second-Year Resident Adviser of the Year – Daniela Johnson