What is LEED?

The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System™ is the nationally accepted benchmark for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. LEED gives building owners and operators the tools they need to have an immediate and measurable impact on their buildings' performance. LEED promotes a whole-building approach to sustainability by recognizing performance in five key areas of human and environmental health: Site Planning, Water Management, Energy Management, Material Use, Indoor Air Quality and Innovation & Design Process.

LEED provides a roadmap for measuring and documenting success for every building type and ph building lifecycle.

LEED presents a complete framework for assessing building performance and meeting sustainability goals. Based on well-founded scientific standards LEED emphasizes state of the art strategies for its categories. Each category has credits and points. LEED has certification level based on points achieved.

LEED offers environmental benefits, economic, community, health and safety benefits, reduces the impact on natural resources consumption, enhances occupant comfort and health, and minimizes strain on local infrastructure.

             CATEGORIES Total v2 Credits Achievable                Total v3 Credits Achievable
1 Site Planning 14 26
2 Water Management 5 20
3 Energy Management 17 35
4 Material Use 13 14
5 Indoor Air Quality 15 15
6 Innovation & Design Process 5 6
7 Regional Priority N/A 4

Total Credits 69 110



CERTIFIED 26-32 40-49
SILVER 33-38 50-59
GOLD 39-51 60-79
PLATINUM 52-69 80-110