In This Section

Health Sciences Directory

Coastal Carolina University  l  111 Chanticleer Drive  l  Conway, SC 29526
843-349-6568  l  843-349-5053 (fax)


Wanda Dooley image

Wanda Dooley, D.N.P., R.N.
Associate Professor / Director of Nursing
112 Swain Hall
843-349-2845
wdooley@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Nursing, George Mason University
M.S. Nursing, George Mason University
D.N.P. (Nursing Practice), Old Dominion University

Research Interests
Health of Immigrant Clients, and Nursing Education


Michael Dunn image

Michael S. Dunn, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
134 Swain Hall 
843-349-2929
mdunn@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Psychology, The University of North Florida
M.S.H. Health Sciences, The University of North Florida
Ph.D. Health Education/Promotion, The University of Alabama

Research Interests
Alcohol, Tobacco, and other Drugs (ATOD), School Health Issues, and Adolescent Health Issues


Amy Edmunds image

Amy Edmunds, M.A.
Senior Lecturer
132 Swain Hall 
843-349-2441
aedmunds@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S., Davidson College
M.A., Murray State University

Research Interests
Stroke experience among young adults and their caregivers, YoungStroke - a non-profit patient advocacy organization, Campus and Community Research Collaborative


Pam English image

Pam English 
Administrative Specialist - Health Sciences
‌138 Swain Hall 
843-349-6568
penglish@coastal.edu

Education and Training
A.A.S., Ferris State University

 


Stephen Firsing imageStephen L. Firsing III, Ph.D., M.P.A. »
Assistant Professor
135 Swain Hall
843-349-6906
sfirsing@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.A., The University of North Carolina Wilmington
M.P.A. Public Administration, The University of North Carolina Wilmington
M.A. Health Promotion, The University of Alabama
Ph.D. Health Education/Promotion (Public Health), The University of Alabama at Birmingham and The University of Alabama

Research Interests
Health Outcomes Measurement, Ecological Determinants of Health, Health Care Organization and Policy, and Disability and Health


Kristi Forbus imageKristi Forbus
Lecturer, Health Administration 
‌146 Swain Hall 
843-349-4166
kforbus@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S., College of Charleston
M.H.A., The Medical University of South Carolina

Departmental Focus
Coordinator of Health Administration Program


Karen Knox imageKaren Knox
Administrative Assistant‌ - Nursing
124 Swain Hall 
843-349-2992
kknox@coastal.edu

 

 

 


Jessica Lowery imageJessica Lowery
Lecturer
146 Swain Hall
843-349-5090
jlowery@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Health Promotion, Coastal Carolina University
M.A.T. Health Promotion, University of South Carolina

 


Fredanna M'Cormack McGough imageFredanna M’Cormack McGough, Ph.D. »
Associate Professor / Department Chair
137 Swain Hall 
843-349-2991
fmcorma@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Health Sciences (Nutrition), The University of North Florida
M.S. Food and Nutrition, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Ph.D. Health Education, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Research Interests
Global Health Issues, Maternal and Child Health Issues, Reproductive Health Issues, and Nutrition


Susan Montenery imageSusan Montenery, D.N.P., R.N., C.C.R.N, CNE
Assistant Professor
111 Swain Hall 
843-349-6490
montenery@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Nursing, Ohio State University
M.S. Nursing Education, Walden University
D.N.P. Duquesne University

Research Interests
Transcultural Health Care, Interprofessional Education, Active Learning Strategies


Mary Kate Powell imageMary Kate Powell, M.P.H. »
Lecturer / Public Health Internship Coordinator 
145 Swain Hall 
843-349-2754
mpowell@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Health Sciences, Clemson University
M.P.H. Public Health, The University of South Carolina

Departmental Focus
Health Promotion Internship Program


Sherer Royce imageSherer W. Royce, Ph.D. »
Associate Professor
133 Swain Hall 
843-349-2687
sroyce@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.A. Journalism, The University of South Carolina
M.P.H. Public Health, The University of South Carolina
Ph.D. Public Health, The University of South Carolina

Research Interests
Tobacco Prevention, Obesity Prevention, and Systems and Policy Changes


Sharon Thompson imageSharon H. Thompson, Ph.D. »
Professor
147 Swain Hall 
843-349-2635
thompson@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Plant Sciences, Clemson University
M.S. Community and Occupational Education, The University of South Carolina
Ed.S. Educational Administration, The University of South Carolina
Ed.D. Health Education Administration, The University of South Carolina

Research Interests
Nutrition and Health Behavioral Change


John Yannessa imageJohn F. Yannessa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
136 Swain Hall 
843-349-6460  
yannessa@coastal.edu

Education and Training
B.S. Psychology, Xavier University (Ohio)
M.S. Kinesiology, Indiana University
Ph.D. Health Behavior, School of Public Health, Indiana University

Research Interests
Human Sexual Behavior and Psychobiological Issues related to Aging