Student Involvement Awards

The Student Involvement and Leadership Awards

Student Involvement and Leadership annually honors the outstanding leadership & student organization conducted across Coastal Carolina University at the Student Involvement & Leadership Awards (SILA). Each spring Student Engagement awards over two dozen awards in partnership with the Student Government Association, Livewell, University Housing, and other campus partners.  

SILA Ceremony

  • April 23, 2024 
  • Allen Ballroom from 6:00pm to 8:00pm
  • There will be an award ceremony & reception, RSVPs will be sent out in March. 

The Awards

We have updated the awards being given out at the SILAs to represent a wider audience of student organizations.  

You can review the full list of awards & their descriptions here.

There are three different categories to get awards in: 

  • Student Organization Group Awards: The awards below are for all registered student organizations with the Office of Student Organizations & Leadership.  FSL Organizations should not apply for these awards. 
  • Student Organization Individual/Leader Awards: The awards below are for all registered student organization leaders with the Office of Student Organizations & Leadership or individual leaders within the CCU community. FSL Organizations should not apply for these awards. 
  • Fraternity & Sorority Awards: The awards below are for all registered social Fraternities & Sororities that are within the Office of Fraternity & Sorority Life.   

The Timeline

The SILA Process


  • Every CCU member is encouraged to participate in acknowledging our commendable students. The nomination process is quick and can be done in a matter of seconds. Upon submitting a nomination, you will receive confirmation, and the recommended student will be notified through an email, urging them to apply. Students who receive nominations are much more inclined to apply. A little encouragement can go a long way!
  • Nomination Form:
  • Nominations Open: January 23rd, 2024
  • Nominations Close:  Feb. 28th,2024 


  • Following the initial nomination phase, Chanticleers campus-wide are urged to submit applications for acknowledgment. With 20 leadership awards available, there are chances to be recognized for a diverse range of achievements and contributions such as DEI, Sustainability, Community Service & more. We recommend students to apply for multiple opportunities with a single application, making the process convenient. The application deadline is approaching on March 17th, 2024. You do not need a nomination to apply.
  • Application Form: Application here
  • Applications Open: Feb 1st
  • Applications Close:  March 17th  


  • After the completion of the application process, committees will convene to assess applicants and choose the well-deserving winners. These committees consist of faculty and staff members from various departments within the university. The review and selection of applications are scheduled for March 2024.  
  • Interested in Reviewing SILA awards? If you're interested in participating on a committee, please complete this form and specify your interest in a SILA committee in the subject line.
  • Reviewing SILA awards would probably take about 5 hours of your time during March & into April.
  • Reviewing Begins: Monday, March 18th 


If you have any questions on the SILAs or the process, please email Caitlin Harrington, Assistant Director of Student Organizations & Leadership at .