Best Paper Award - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

Mary Jeanne Byrd Award for Best Paper

Mary Jeanne Byrd Award

South Carolina Political Science Association (SCPSA 2018)

Best Paper Award


The Mary Jeanne Byrd Award is given annually to the best undergraduate paper presented at the South Carolina Political Science Association’s Annual Meeting. To submit a paper for consideration, please email Program Co-Organizer Suheir Daoud, Ph.D. by February 15st.  Submissions should include two versions of the paper, one full copy and one with all identifying names and affiliations removed. After peer review, the winning paper will be published in an upcoming volume of The Journal of Political Science. If you have any questions about the Award, please contact Professor Daoud.


Mary Jeanne Byrd was an instructor of Political Science at Winthrop University in the 1950s-1970s. She taught courses in American Government and Politics, with particular expertise in political parties. She held a Master’s degree in Political Science from American University and was ABD in Political Science from the University of South Carolina. Professor Byrd was the first woman Insurance Commissioner in South Carolina and was personally acquainted with Eleanor Roosevelt through her activities as a young woman. Professor Byrd was an active member of the South Carolina Political Science Association and is a past President. (Thanks to Karen Kedrowski, Ph.D., Winthrop University)