In This Section

Internships


Faculty Contacts

This list contains the names of faculty for students to contact in order to determine course enrollment eligibility and a list of all courses associated with each department. 

Anthropology and Geography
Carolyn Dillian, Chair
cdillian@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2777
Course: ANTH*495, GEOG*495

Business (all majors)
Ellen Ryan Hayward, Wall Center  Director of Career Services  | Melinda Pert Tavernier, Wall Center Student Employment Specialist
eeryan@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2679  | mtaverni@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2111
Courses: ACCT*497, ACCT*697, CBAD*297 CBAD*497, CBAD*697, ECON*497 FIN*497, MBA*697, MGMT*497, MKTG*497 HRTM*180, HRTM*230, HRTM*280, HRTM*380, HRTM*381, HRTM*480

Accounting
Greg Krippel, Chair  |  Ellen Ryan Hayward, Wall Center Director of Career Services
krippel@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2643  |  eeryan@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2679
Courses: ACCT*497, ACCT*697, CBAD*697

Biochemistry
David Evans, Chair  |  Paul Richardson, Professor/Internship Coordinator
devans@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2209  |  prichar@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2598
Courses: N/A

Biology
Michael Pierce, Chair
mpierce@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6483
Courses: BIOL*395, BIOL*399, BIOL*499

Chemistry
David Evans, Chair  |  Paul Richardson, Professor/Internship Coordinator
devans@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2209  |  prichar@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2598
Courses: N/A

Coastal Marine and Wetland Studies
Paul Gayes, Director  |  Karen Fuss, Internship Coordinator
ptgayes@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-4015  |  kfuss@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-4058
Course: CMWS*701

Communication, Media and Culture
Wes Fondren, Chair  |  Gwen Fowler, Lecturer/Internship Coordinator
wfondren@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6656  |  gfowler@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2288
Course: COMM*495

Computing Science and Information Systems
Will Jones, Chair  |  Richard Matthews, Internship Coordinator
wjones@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-4142  |  rmatthe@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2359
Course: CSCI*497

Digital Culture and Design
Jen Boyle, Chair
jboyle@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6654
Courses: DCD*495, DCD*496

Education All Majors
Betsey Costner, Clinical Field Placement Academic Advisor/Internship Coordinator
btcostne@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6958
Courses: ARTE*550, EDEC*340, EDEC*379, EDEC*423, EDEC*466, EDEL*341, EDEL*343, EDEL*467, EDEL*472, EDEL*481, EDEL*488, EDML*325, EDML*445, EDM*468, EDM*489, EDM*490, EDM*491, EDM*492, EDPE*479, EDLD*410, EDLD*411, EDLD*412, EDLD*459, EDLD*469, EDLD*478, EDLD*479, EDSP*310, EDSP*320, EDSP*410, EDSP*450, EDSC*547, EDSC*548, EDSC*549, EDSC*551,  EDSC*552, EDSC*553, EDSC*590

English
Joseph Oestreich, Chair  |  Rebecca Childs, Associate Professor/Internship Coordinator
joeo@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2433  |  rchilds@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6428
Courses: ENGL*495, ENGL*683, JOUR*495

Exercise and Sport Science
Gregory Martel, Chair  |  Christine Rockey, Internship Coordinator
gmartel@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2957  |  crockey@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6920
Course: EXSS*495

Finance and Economics
Dennis Edwards, Chair  |  Ellen Ryan Hayward, Internship Coordinator
dsedward@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2130  |  eeryan@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2679
Courses: ECON*497, FIN*497

Health Sciences
Fredanna M'Cormack, Chair  |  Mary Kate Powell, Lecturer/Internship Coordinator
fmcorma@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2991  |  mpowell@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2754
Course: PUBH*485

History
Brandon Palmer, Chair
bpalmer@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2472
Course: HIST*495

Kinesiology
Gregory Martel, Chair  |  Sandra Wilson, Associate Professor
gmartel@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2944  |  swilson@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2457
Courses: KRSS*397, KRSS*497

Management and Decision Sciences
Erika Small, Chair  |  Ellen Ryan Hayward, Internship Coordinator
esmall@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2676  |  eeryan@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2679
Course: MGMT*497

Marine Science
Jane Guentzel, Chair
jguentze@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2374
Courses: ENVI*399, GEOL*499, MSCI*395, MSCI*398, MSCI*498

Marketing, Hospitality, and Resort Tourism
Monica Fine, Chair  |  Taylor Damonte, RTM Director  |  Ellen Ryan Hayward, Internship Coordinator
mfine@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2229 |  tdamonte@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2698 |  eeryan@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2679
Courses: MKTG*497, HRTM*180, HRTM*230, HRTM*280, HRTM*380, HRTM*381, HRTM*480

Master of Accountancy, Master of Business Administration
Greg Krippel, Chair/Internship Coordinator  |  Staci Willette, Student Services Program Coordinator
krippel@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2761 |  willette@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2761
Courses: ACCT*697, CBAD*697

Mathematics and Statistics
Thomas Hoffman, Chair
thoffman@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2717
Courses: MATH*399, STAT*399

Music
Philip Powell, Chair
ppowell@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2515
Courses: MUS*415, MUS*435, MUED*551

Nursing
Wanda Dooley, Director of Nursing
wdooley@coastal.edu ~ 843-839-1117
Courses: NUR*410P, NUR*420P

Philosophy and Religious Studies
Dennis Earl, Chair
dearl@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-4094
Courses: PHIL*333, PHIL*495

Physics and Engineering Science
Brian Bunton, Chair
bbunton@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2066
Courses: N/A

Politics and Geography
Frederick Wood, Chair  |  Karen Diane Williams, Internship Coordinator
fwood@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6594  |  kwilliam@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2621
Courses: POLI*495, POLI*498

Professional Golf Management
William Feagin, Internship Director  |  Donald Brook, Advisement Coordinator
wfeagin@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2972  |  dbrook@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6486
Courses: PGMP*180, PGMP*280, PGMP*380, PGMP*480

Psychology
Terry Pettijohn, Chair
tpettijo@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6447
Courses: PSYC*490, PSYC*495

Recreation and Sport Management
Colleen McGlone, Chair  |  Donald Rockey, Associate Chair/Professor
cmcglone@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2989  |  drockey@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-4040
Courses: RSM*392, RSM*496

Sociology
Robert Jenkot, Chair
rjenkot@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2274
Courses: SOC*395, SOC*495, SOC*499

Strategic Languages and Intercultural Literacy
Gary Schmidt, Chair
gschmidt@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2741
Courses: FREN*495, GERM*495, SPAN*495

Swain Scholars
Sharon Thompson, Professor/Coordinator
thompson@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2635
Courses: SWNS*401, SWNS*402

Theatre and Musical Theatre
Monica Sue Bell, Chair
mbell@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2287
Course: THEA*495

University College
Megan McIlreavy, Associate Dean  |  Michele Varga, Interdisciplinary Studies Internship Coordinator  |  Ina Seethaler, Assistant Professor/Director, Women's and Gender Studies
mmcilrea@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-2728 |  mvarga@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6528  | iseethale@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6919
Courses: IDS*495, UNIV*395, UNIV*495, WGST*495

Visual Arts
Easton Selby, Chair
eselby@coastal.edu ~ 843-349-6474
Courses: ARTC*365, ARTD*495, ARTD*496, ARTS*495, ARTS*496, ARTE*541