About the Center - Coastal Carolina University
In This Section

About the Jackson Family Center

The Jackson Center aims to cultivate ethical awareness within the academy and surrounding community, through programs and events fostering inclusive conversations on important contemporary ethical issues.

The primary focus of the Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values is to cultivate awareness throughout the academic and surrounding communities of the importance and lifelong rewards of personal and professional integrity. In order to achieve its goals, the Jackson Center sponsors four cornerstones: the Jackson Scholars, the Ethics and Leadership Academy, the Jackson Center Events Program, and the Visiting Ethicist series. The Center is guided by a director, an assistant director, an ethics fellow, and a board of directors in order to recognize and celebrate the rich history and example of Mary Emily and Nelson Jackson and their family.

Mission Statement:

The mission of the Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values is to create opportunities for open conversations about how ethics and values affect the individual, the university, the region and the world.

 Vision Statement: 

The vision of the Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values is to inspire individuals to make ethical and value based decisions, and thus live lives of courage, compassion and integrity.


Jackson Center Directory


David Holiday was the 2015-2018 Ethics Fellow and took over as the Director in Fall 2018. He received his BA from Balliol College, Oxford, his MSc from Edinburgh University, and his PhD from the University of Chicago. His doctoral thesis "Moral Incapacity: the Shadows Cast by Character" explored the idea that the moral limits to what we can do partly give our characters their shape. His work is primarily focused on moral theory, moral psychology and the history of ethics (focusing on the 20th Century). He also works on the philosophy of human rights, with interests in the foundational concepts and norms that shape contemporary thought about global justice such as sovereignty, dignity and equality. Outside of philosophy, he is a passionate cook, baker and butcher, a Japanese speaker, and a devoted fan of the Arsenal, the Chicago Blackhawks, Bears and White Sox, and MMA.

Assistant Director

Alexis Widdifield has a BA in History and is currently pursuing an Master of Arts in Liberal Studies with a focus in Anthropology at Coastal Carolina University. Alexis hopes to complete an additional degree to specialize in cultural resource and environmental law.

Board of Directors

Laura Hoy, Chair, Jackson Family Member
Emily Vallarino, Jackson Family Member
Rachel Gandy, Jackson Family Member
Kaki Williamson, Jackson Family Member
Jeanne Mize, Jackson Family Member
Claudia McCollough, Founder, Jackson Family Center for Ethics and Values           
Dan Ennis, Provost               
Claudia Bornholt, Dean, Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Amanda Brian, Associate Dean, Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts
Easton Selby, Associate Dean, Edwards College of Humanities and Fine Arts               
Scott Gallimore, former Assistant Director, CINO Card Operations Manager                                                   
Barbara Ritter, Dean, Wall College of Business and VP for Executive Development and Career Services
Michael Roberts, Dean, College of Science and VP for Research and Emerging Initiatives
Gina Cummings, Director, Wall Fellows Program 
Caroline P. Rohr, Jackson Scholar Alumni (2004-2006), University Communication                                            Deborah Vrooman, Coastal Carolina University Professor                                                                                Carolyn Floyd