Motor Pool Rentals
The University’s motor pool vehicles are reserved on a first-come, first-serve basis. Therefore, it is important to request vehicles as soon as the need arises, but reservations two weeks in advance are preferred. Complete a Vehicle Reservation Request Form (PDF) located on the University’s forms page. This form must show the cost center account number, be signed by the budget officer and/or supervisor, and emailed to Transportation Services at email@example.com. Upon receipt of the Vehicle Reservation Request form, a vehicle will be scheduled, if available, and if the driver has been authorized to drive.
University vehicles are the property of the State of South Carolina and are to be used in accordance with the laws and regulations thereof. Coastal Carolina University’s Department of Transportation Services follows guidelines set by the State of South Carolina. All drivers are expected to be aware of the policies and procedures guidelines. Coastal Carolina University vehicles, as well as rental vehicles, are to be used only for official University business.
Motor Pool Rental FAQs
Select a question below to go directly to the response.
- What vehicles are available to rent from the CCU motor pool?
- Who is an eligible renter?
- How do I become an authorized Coastal Carolina University driver?
- Can someone under age 16 ride in a rental vehicle?
- How do I reserve a CCU motor pool vehicle?
- How do I change or cancel a reservation?
- What is the motor pool rental rate?
- May I pick up my vehicle earlier than the time listed on my reservation?
- Will there be a charge if I am late returning the rental vehicle?
- Where do I pick up the CCU motor pool vehicle?
- May I pick up and drop off a CCU motor pool vehicle after hours and on weekends?
- Is there a charge if my group leaves trash in the motor pool vehicle?
- May I leave my personal vehicle in the parking lot at Transportation Services?
- How do I fuel my vehicle?
- Where can I purchase fuel using the WEX fuel card?
- How do I use the WEX fuel card?
- What do I do if I have an accident with my CCU motor pool vehicle?
Coastal Carolina University’s Transportation Services provides a limited number of 12-passenger vans, one cargo van, and one 25-foot box truck available to rent for local use only, on a first-come, first-serve basis.
An eligible renter is a University authorized driver at least 21 years of age (or at least 25 years of age for the box truck).
Follow the steps on the New University Drivers page.
University Policy UNIV-470 VI. B. states: “No children under the age of 16 will be allowed to travel in motor pool or rental vehicles unless written permission is granted by the vice president of the department requesting the vehicle.”
Complete a Vehicle Reservation Request Form (PDF) located on the University’s forms page. This form must show the cost center account number, be signed by the budget officer and/or supervisor, and emailed to Transportation Services at firstname.lastname@example.org. A vehicle may not be scheduled by telephone. It is important to request vehicles as soon as the need arises, but reservations two weeks in advance are preferred.
Cancellations must be emailed during normal business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday to email@example.com no later than 24 hours before your departure. Cancellations with less than 24 hours’ notice or no-shows will incur a $100.00 charge to the cost center account number noted on your reservation.
The charge back rate including use and fuel for Motor Pool Vehicles is $0.56 per mile.
No. The time parameter specified on the Vehicle Reservation Request form must be followed as other reservations are made based on this information.
Yes. The cost center account number noted on your reservation will be charged if the vehicle is not returned on or before the date and time stated on the reservation form.
Vehicle keys and paperwork will be available for pick up at Transportation Services located at 290 Allied Drive, Conway, SC, 29526 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Yes. Contact Public Safety at 843-349-2177 for key service to unlock the Transportation office to pick up vehicles after hours and on weekends. Please note: When returning vehicles after hours, please utilize the drop box located on the corner of Transportation Services building to return your keys, fuel card and paperwork.
Yes. The cost center account number noted on the reservation will be charged $50.00 if a motor pool vehicle is returned with trash or has not been cleaned out for the next renter.
Yes. Vehicles must be parked in the same spot where you remove your rental van and will be parked at your own risk.
All vehicles have assigned credit cards for fuel purchases. In order to purchase fuel with the Wright Express Fuel "WEX card", you must have a P.I.N. If you do not have a P.I.N., you must complete a Driver Information Form (PDF) and email to firstname.lastname@example.org. P.I.N. numbers may take up to two weeks to obtain. Motor pool rentals not returned with a full tank of fuel will result in a $125.00 charge to the cost center account number noted on the reservation.
The WEX card is honored at commercial retail outlets displaying the Wright Express Logo. Participating locations are listed in the Driver Guide located in the fuel card sleeve.
Simply follow the prompts on the pump. Swipe the card, enter the odometer reading, enter your P.I.N., and start fueling. Fuel cards and fuel receipts for motor pool vehicles must be turned in with the return of the vehicle. View video tutorial for using WEX card (run time 4:56) »
You must follow the Automobile Accident Procedures. In the paperwork provided with every rental, there are instructions provided by the Office of Risk Management in the event of an accident, as well as telephone numbers for emergency contacts.